• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

e6850 Need advise for 3.6ghz+

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Hardup

Registered
Currently I am sitting stable at 3.6 with the current temps, both a pic of Idle, and Load.

Idle
oc1idlexu8.jpg

Load
oc1loadme7.jpg

I can not get it stable, over 3.6ghz no matter how high I raise the vCore, NB or anything else. Temps are well under check currently, and i see no reason why I cant push this thing furthur. I have posted at 3.6 - 4.2 but never able to get stable.

Memory timings are currently high, but somewhat OC'd past the rated 1600. The FSB is at a low 450 with a multi of 8. System is more stable with a multi of 8 and requires less voltage as well compaired to a multi of 9.

This is my first time attempting an OC, as well as my first build.

Any help would be greatly appriciated, and honestly how is this currently looking for my first shot at the OC'ing?

Specs,
Fully watercooled (2 loops, 1 on cpu/nb/mosfets, 2nd for 2xHD 2900 XTs)
e6850
Asus maximus extreme

Memory set to 1:2 is counter productive. Set it to 1:1, there is no need for any other setting and it must be taxing that ram like mad. It could well improve your OC as well.

Multi of 9 is more efficient and by adjusting your memory you should get a better OC with 9x and better memory timings.

Thanks for the direction. I will try the mem at 2t tonight, and give a multi of 9x with a fsb of 400, and go from there. With the multi higher, will the voltage req's be higher as well, or should I expect that at 3.6ghz with a multi of 8 and fsb of 450 the voltage req's would be the same at 3.6ghz with the 9x multi and fsb of 400 ?

And by changing the mem to 2t in the bios does that set it to 1:1 or is there somewhere else I need to be looking to do that?

Thanks.