• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

errrrrr lost my protein

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Cerial_Killer

Registered
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
errrrrr lost my protein "Properly shutdown"

:mad: I dont know what is going on but this is the second time that i made it to about 20% done on a PTrpCage and then the next morning i get up and start it all back up and it downloads another and acts like the existing one isnt there. So im a little upset, with whatever is going on. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks:eh?:

And im using Client 3.14 console Gromacs
 
Last edited:

chrismacan

Member
Joined
Mar 13, 2002
Location
Montreal, Quebec
Cerial_Killer said:
:mad: I dont know what is going on but this is the second time that i made it to about 20% done on a PTrpCage and then the next morning i get up and start it all back up and it downloads another and acts like the existing one isnt there. So im a little upset, with whatever is going on. Anyone have any ideas?

Thanks:eh?:

And im using Client 3.14 console Gromacs

If your system is overclocked you may have to reduce your OC a couple of notches to ensure that there is no instability with the FAH78_core.exe.

The Gromacs core is more sensitive to OC's than the Tinker core.

I had some problems on my rig # 2, I had to drop the OC from 150 FSB to 147 FSB to have stability.

My rig # 1 has NO problems at FSB 159.

Try to reduce your OC and see what happens. If the problem continues you should probably post a copy of your log file here so that someone can read through it and maybe figure out what is going on.

Good luck.

-chris
 
OP
C

Cerial_Killer

Registered
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
My system is very stable and its not overclocked, This is the log I received before thing went aray.
Benchmarking ...
Loaded queue successfully.

+ Processing work unit
Core required: FahCore_78.exe (found)

[October 27 04:12:23] Working on Unit 01
+ Working ...
[04:12:24] [email protected] Gromacs Core Version 1.31 (September 25, 2002)
[04:12:24]
[04:12:24] Proj: work/wudata_01
[04:12:24] Read to use standard loops.
[04:12:24] Previous termination of core was improper.
[04:12:24] Files status OK
[04:12:24] Done: 247970 -> 1325401 (decompressed 534.5 percent)
[04:12:24] - Project: 903 (Run 11, Clone 1, Gen 17)
[04:12:24] Writing local files:
[04:12:24] Entering M.D.
[04:12:31] arc file found...
[04:12:31] ... and we'll restart from it.
[04:12:31] Protein: PTrpCage
[04:12:32] Writing local files
[04:12:32] Completed 162000 out of 500000 steps (32%)



When it decided to boot my protein. This is what I got.

Benchmarking ...
Loaded queue successfully.

+ Processing work unit
Core required: FahCore_78.exe (found)

[October 27 14:24:52] Working on Unit 01
+ Working ...
[14:24:52] [email protected] Gromacs Core Version 1.31 (September 25, 2002)
[14:24:52]
[14:24:52] Proj: work/wudata_01
[14:24:52] Read to use standard loops.
[14:24:53] Examination of work files indicates 4 consecutive improper terminations of core.
[14:24:53] Delete mode
[14:24:53] Deleting frame files
[14:24:53] Deleting work files
[14:24:53]
[14:24:53] [email protected] Core Shutdown: SPECIAL_EXIT
CoreStatus = 65 (101)
Core internal error: SPECIAL_EXIT

What is it talking about "Previous termination of core was improper."
I use EMIII to shut it down,I have it set so when i turn off EMIII it alos turns off Console. Is there a another way i should be doing it?
 
OP
C

Cerial_Killer

Registered
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
OK I shut down the current project 4 times using EMIII before it could get going and it did it agian. It said...

[October 27 17:19:13] Working on Unit 02
+ Working ...
[17:19:13] [email protected] Gromacs Core Version 1.31 (September 25, 2002)
[17:19:13]
[17:19:13] Proj: work/wudata_02
[17:19:13] Read to use standard loops.
[17:19:13] Examination of work files indicates 4 consecutive improper terminations of core.
[17:19:13] Delete mode
[17:19:13] Deleting frame files
[17:19:13] Deleting work files
[17:19:13]
[17:19:13] [email protected] Core Shutdown: SPECIAL_EXIT
CoreStatus = 65 (101)
Core internal error: SPECIAL_EXIT

So my question is how am I supposed to close this thing I dont want to leave my pc running?:confused:
 
OP
C

Cerial_Killer

Registered
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Thanks For the reply, I couldnt find the anwser on the Team site, maybe it could be added to the Q&A
 

rich99million

Member
Joined
Jun 12, 2002
Location
UK
as long as it's you shutting it down i don't see a problem with using the -forceasm switch which stops it checking to see if it was incorrectly shut down last time

your shortcut should look something like this:

"C:\Program Files\[email protected]\FAHConsole1\FAH3Console.exe" -advmethods -forceasm


Rich
 
OP
C

Cerial_Killer

Registered
Joined
Jul 18, 2001
Thanks I just added it to the shortcut and it said
Assembly optimizations manually forced on.
Not checking prior termination.

Thanks guys:D :D