• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Everyones Temps

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Seal

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Location
London
Hi all, i joined the watercooling club today! I fitted my parts after a day of leek testing and lapping my wb with 1200 grit! I love it and am totally hooked now!

Anyways, i'm a bit dissapointed at my temps so far but its probably to do with the fact that im using 80mm fans instead of a 120mm fan (which is on order at the moment) on my Black Ice Pro.

The setup is:
Eheim 1048
Black Ice Pro
Atlantis rev 3 WB
1/2 inch fittings all round


My temps are 51 deg C cpu and 29 deg C water temp. Ambient for me is 21 deg C

What are your temps? (including water temp)

Thanks
Seal
 

DKYoda

Member
Joined
May 20, 2002
Location
Texas
homemade water block .
aquavia 1300
Camaro core in an external plexi case with 120 fan ..
XP1600 slightly overclocked .. default voltage ..

Ambient 23 .
CPU idle 30C .. under load 36C ..

Wouldnt have a clue what the water temp is :D
 

Albigger

Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
seal said:
Hi all, i joined the watercooling club today! I fitted my parts after a day of leek testing and lapping my wb with 1200 grit! I love it and am totally hooked now!

Anyways, i'm a bit dissapointed at my temps so far but its probably to do with the fact that im using 80mm fans instead of a 120mm fan (which is on order at the moment) on my Black Ice Pro.

The setup is:
Eheim 1048
Black Ice Pro
Atlantis rev 3 WB
1/2 inch fittings all round


My temps are 51 deg C cpu and 29 deg C water temp. Ambient for me is 21 deg C

What are your temps? (including water temp)

Thanks
Seal

I still don't think your cpu should be 22 degress above your water temp. is there a possible mounting problem? as long as you have some air on the radiator temps should be a little lower.

1600xp at 1740MHz
1.95 vcore
system 31C cpu 40C at load
aluminum water block
1/2 or 5/8 tubing
700 gph mag drive
 
OP
Seal

Seal

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Location
London
hmmmm, im not sure about the mounting, i've screwed the thumbscrews in so that the springs are about 3/4 compressed length. Is that ok? Will it need to be tighter? Is there a risk that i will crack the core if i overtighten? How do i know how tight to screw it in?
 

Wicked Klown

Hard *** Southern Boy Senior
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Sheboygan, Wisconsin
Temp on my back-up rig are 22C idle and 24C load ambient is 24C.
Thats on a 800 Celeron @ 1066MHz with direct die cooling.
Temp for my main rigare 16C idle and 22C load and thats with a 1900+XP at 1900MHz. However I'm using a MCW462-UHT to cool it.
 

Eclypsyr

Member
Joined
Aug 15, 2002
(don't take my word on this...but..)
I think most mounting mechanisms are created to compress the springs fully, there is a slight chance of cracking the core if overcompressed...just look up a FAQ or something on mounting the specific wb to find out...
-Dae-
 

Albigger

Member
Joined
Sep 22, 2002
Yeah i'm also not sure about the mounting screws, but i think they can be tightened all the way safely. but i don't know cuz i've never used the springs.

right now my block is hard mounted and i really torqued the heck outta em, but i'm using a shim. I wouldn't even think of hard mounting my block without a shim...
 
OP
Seal

Seal

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Location
London
Hmmm, nice temps guys.

I think I'll wait till more people post to see their views on the spring thing, i'm not using a shim and dont really want to because i have heared many bad things about them. The temp is from the temp probe not on the dye. Could it be this that is inaccurate? I dont think it is but could it be? Im using a Abit KX7-333 and i have never heared of inaccurate temp readings from it.
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
Seal what mobo do you use? Are your temps on die or insocket? Comparing temps between the 2 different methods is futile and really meaningless. As far as springs go, I don't even use them, I just bolt my block down tight - just not too tight...
 

Sniperboy

Member
Joined
Jun 9, 2002
Location
Omaha, NE/Ithaca, NY
Black Edge Waterblock
Northbridge waterblock
'87 Chevette Heatercore
Maxijet 1200

Ambient=23C
Load=45C

I think this is pretty bad. I'm reading my temps from a probe next to the core.
 

lebe0024

Member
Joined
Mar 22, 2002
Location
St. Paul - Minnesota
ambient 22-23

You wanna know something funny? For the last few months, I was only reading my system temp, and I thought it was my CPU temp, and it was in the 41-45 range! HA!

My computer is practically SILENT. I really can hardly hear it. My external heatercore/fan is under my desk, and I only have two other slow 80mm fans in my case (PSU and one pointed at NB)
 

ThePunkGeek

Member
Joined
Mar 24, 2001
Location
Ontario Canada
Swiftech Block
Via Aqua 1300 pump
Heatercore from a cutlass
1/2

heatercore is at 25C
CPU is at 44C Full load on-die
180x10 (XP1600+)
CPU is 39C Full load on-die
166x10.5
 
Last edited:
OP
Seal

Seal

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2002
Location
London
Hmmm made an interesting observation today, when i boot up my computer it tells me my temp probe is reading about 30 deg C. The temp then VERY gradually rises to around 50 deg C. The only thing is that it takes about 30 mins of idle time for it to raise from 30 to 50. From what i take this isnt the processor warming up because i assume that it only takes less than 1min for it to get up to temp. Could it be the still block of air between the processor and the processor mount (where the temp probe is positioned) warming up??? and since im not using air cooling, no air boes behind the cpu to shift the still block of air.

Could this be my problem?
 

hc1001

Member
Joined
Jul 6, 2002
Location
NY
ehiem 1048
maze3
vid block
black ice pro
water + water wetter
pump>rad>cpu>vid>res>pump
ambient case tesmp is 30C
idle temps are 30C
max temps are 49C

is there something wrong with my setup? 19C is a lot of a difference. my vcore voltage is at 1.6....its probably from cooling the vid card.....if i take it down to default voltage and OCed to 3050 my max temps get to 40...9C for 100MHz more.....err....
 

cmcquistion

IT Director Senior
Joined
Oct 15, 2001
Location
Tennessee
Your springs should be compressed to about 50% of normal length. Don't tighten them up until there is no gaps at all in the rungs, but tighten them until there are only very small gaps.

I use a DangerDen Maze 3 and Jagged Edge waterblock on my dual XP1600's @ 1800 MHz and default voltage. Also have a waterblock on my Geforce 4. Case temps runs about 27-28C, CPU temps average 35-40C at full load. Using Eheim 1048 pump and radiator with 120mm fan. 3/8 fittings all around, all blocks connected in parallel, NOT series.
 

nikhsub1

Unoriginal Macho Moderator
Joined
Oct 12, 2001
Location
Los Angeles
cmcquistion said:
Your springs should be compressed to about 50% of normal length. Don't tighten them up until there is no gaps at all in the rungs, but tighten them until there are only very small gaps.

I use a DangerDen Maze 3 and Jagged Edge waterblock on my dual XP1600's @ 1800 MHz and default voltage. Also have a waterblock on my Geforce 4. Case temps runs about 27-28C, CPU temps average 35-40C at full load. Using Eheim 1048 pump and radiator with 120mm fan. 3/8 fittings all around, all blocks connected in parallel, NOT series.
Have you tried running in parallel? I think you would get better temps in parallel, especially with the 1048. In series you probably are only getting like 20 - 30 GPH.