• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Extending my network, Wireless-ly

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ekoh

So to start here is my set up. In my utility room i have my modem and wireless router. I am hardwired to my main right/file server, and wireless to the two laptops wherever they are at the time. Up stairs i have a desktop in my fiances office, and soon a networked media device in our bedroom on the 37 incher. i want to add a hard wired line to the NMT atleast and possibly the desktop, if not the desktop no problem. I am a former construction electrician so i know how to run cat5 through the house (as i did it downstairs) i just finished the ceiling before i moved in downstairs...OOOPS didnt even think of hard wiring the upstairs. Question is, could i put a Wireless access point in the attic (has power outlets up there) and drop it down my cable lines i have down there and run it out of the same outlet and it'll work that way? I saw a 2 ethernet port WAP on newegg and wondering if it will work that way...

Is there any issues i would run into with this? Maybe i would need to upgrade my G router to a N or range extended router for best signal. I know some would think why not just run wireless since its going to be wireless from the attic, but i plan to buy a WAP that acts as a repeater (re increases/boosts the signal back up) then down through hard wire. As far as the craftmanship/handy work requird on this ....that is no problem i'm just wondering if i will get crappy signal/stream rates on my NMT with this method or better than just running of a wireless USB adapter to it.

thanks in advance!!!

thehacker010