• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Extreme or heatercore?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bongo

yeah, im really curious about this too!!
Im kinda leaning towards the extreme blacl ice II, but I really cant say anything cause im pretty new to H2O cooling.

REally interested in other responses!!

Aesik

Actually heater cores don't cool cars, they warm the air for your heater. While this does do some limited cooling of the engine, the bulk is done by the radiator.

A Black Ice is nothing more than a glorified heater core. I can see no way to justify their cost personally.

OP
CharlesHF

CharlesHF

Thanks. Just wondering why they cost so much. Paying for the name????
Now of someone would reply to my other thread about making an evaporator out of my maze2-1...........

technician

I just got my Black Ice Extreme in the mail, it looks very nice :)

The reason (and the only reason) I got it was because of the size. I want to make my watercooling setup entirely contained within the case so I can transport it around. Otherwise, the price just doesn't make any sense.

Haddy

Registered
Maximus Nickus said:
A Heater Core has much more cooling potential, they cool cars afterall.

If you can get hold of one.....;)
acctually no....they are almost exactly the same....oh and the reason u pay more is bcause its painted...it has a low pressure drop mod on it and plus its just kick *** and anything kick *** is usualy pretty costly...oh yea and ur paying for the fittings they put on...so basicly unless u have all the stuff needed to change the fittings on a heatercore (jbweld, hacksaw, ect...) the the bix is a good deal..got mine for 68 bucks here http://www.cooltechnica.com/Merchan...Store_Code=C&Product_Code=BIX&Category_Code=R

zoopa_man