• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

fake AMD CPUS ?? with pics..

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

julian

Registered
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
madrid
Hi,

I think that this CPU is fake. I have done some tinkering on the L1/L3 bridges but the green paste is not mine. I noticed it after I burnt it...... It is a brand new CPU pre 0340. 2600XP

The pictures with the details are

http://server5.uploadit.org/files2/281203-100_2217 copy.JPG
http://server5.uploadit.org/files2/281203-100_2219 copy.JPG
http://server5.uploadit.org/files2/281203-100_2218 copy.JPG
http://server5.uploadit.org/files2/281203-100_2220 copy.JPG
http://server5.uploadit.org/files2/281203-100_2221 copy.JPG

Any hints appreciated... I may still get my money back ...

Thanks.


JCG
 

OCn00b

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
I copied/pasted the links and all I got was a page cannot be displayed dns error.
 

RoadWarrior

Senior Member
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Location
Niagara Falls, Ontario, Canada
At a guess, I would say it might possibly have been a Thorton XP 1800+with the bridges modded to turn extra cache on and remarked? 1800+ is 11.5 times multi @ 133 2600 is 11.5x @ 166. So no multi messing would have been visible. CAn't see the pics though so don't know whether it was the cache bridges or not.

Road Warrior
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
There are no 1800 Thortons.
There's a 2000+, 2200+, 2400+, (and rarely seen 2600+) Thorton.
 
OP
J

julian

Registered
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
madrid
pics not big ... adn working...

Hi Guys,

The pics are not very big ( 100 K each ?¿?). and the server is runing. I just tested. Make sure you copy paste the whole URL until the .jpg....

Thanks for the help.

JCG
 

StinkNBreff

Member
Joined
Nov 14, 2003
You should take smaller clearer pictures .. I am 99 % sure your hunch is right though , something is wrong from what I saw !!
 

Zerileous

Senior Member
Joined
Jun 21, 2002
soemthing looks wrong to me, that green stuff on those bridges definatly didnt come from AMD and it looks like the green color was used specifically to keep it from being noticed. What/who was your supplier (if this is something you would rather keep confidential due to lack of proof and not wanting to ruin someones reputation that is perfectly understandable) Infact i would reccomend if this was a person to person deal you do keep the source confidential, but if you bought it from a company or online store or physical store please share.
 
OP
J

julian

Registered
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
madrid
I got it from a European reputate supplier. The kind of people don't mess with this things.

I have reported to one of the AMD forums. I am waiting for comments. Depending on the answer from AMD, and eventually the supplier, I will make the name public.

I will let you know.

JCG
 

c627627

c(n*199780) Senior Member
Joined
Feb 18, 2002
Moderama galore.

DKV3D [166] x 12.5 = 2083 MHz T-Bred B.

Cheap AMD CPU's have [133] FSB.

People can sometimes modify unlocked Athlon XP's like so:

• L5 mod makes the mobo think it's a MP
• L12 mod makes the mobo think it's either a 133, 166 or 200 MHz FSB CPU
• L3 mod makes the mobo think the CPU uses another multiplier
• L11 mod makes the mobo think the CPU uses another stock Vcore.
• L2 makes the mobo think the CPU has 256KB L2 cache instead of 512KB (Unlocked Thortons only)
 

UnLoadeD

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2002
Location
miwest, usa
julian said:
Hi,

I think that this CPU is fake. I have done some tinkering on the L1/L3 bridges but the green paste is not mine. I noticed it after I burnt it...... It is a brand new CPU pre 0340. 2600XP


It seems odd to me that you wouldn't notice that while messing with the other bridges. In the first pic, it looks like something melted with printing on it. Did you have a heatsink with plastic coating over the TIM? Did you remove the coating? It looks to me like that was the problem. And possibly the overheating caused enough heat through those L11 bridges to melt the packaging there?
Just what came to my mind while looking at the pics. Not accusing you of anything, but had to make some assumptions. More info might help narrow it down.
Did you remove TIM protective layer?
Did you boot the CPU before altering the bridges?
If so...
What voltage was it running?
What were your temps?

These are just some details that will help, anymore would be useful too.

peace.
unloaded
 
OP
J

julian

Registered
Joined
Dec 28, 2003
Location
madrid
Hi,

I tested the CPUs independently before touching them. All BIOS params on auto. Everything fine. Even after making them MP.

The green paint was there before. I noticed when I was tinkering with the other bridges but I did not paid too much attention. It was later, after melting it ( my fault ), that I found some articles about modified AMD chips. Then I started thinking that something was wrong.

Definitelly the package did not melt. My heat sink was not properly installed, it touched one of the upper contacts and the chip died.


The green paste was there before and it hasn't moved or changed since I killed the CPU.....

Cheers.

JCG