• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

fan speed control question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

fsujustin33

Registered
i have a sunon tornado 80mm fan that runs @ over 6000rpm...it is LOUD, and I want to install a rheostat to control the speed at which it runs....

the fan runs @ 9.1W ...most of the rheostats I see on websites only support up to 5-6 Watts..... the link for the fan is below

any suggestions as to where I can find the proper equipment for this?

i'm a total noob when it comes to this, so any suggestions on technique would be appreciated!

Thanks!
:beer: fan specs

RangerJoe

All that is Man!
http://www.sidewindercomputers.com/rheosformc.html

the thing is, you want a fan that resists less power than the fan puts out, because then you would have the option of turning it off completely. i have that same fan, and thats same rheostat, it brings it from full speed (6000 rpm) to a quiet 4000 rpm or lower...which makes it blend in with the other fans i have in my case..and with this rheostat, you can simply mod the front of the case with a tiny hole, and have it accessable for whenever you need it
http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/1102/DSCN0664 (Large).JPG
http://www.theforumisdown.com/uploadfiles/1102/DSCN0714 (Large).JPG
thats how it looks in my case

OP
F

fsujustin33

Registered
so does it not matter that the rheostat you recommended is rated for 6W/.7amps while the fan is rated at 9.1W/.72amps?

I figured this would be hazardous to overload the switch, as I can not afford to melt my case.....

also, the power connection seems like its on a short cord for that rheostat, did you have a hard time getting it to reach your fan cord?