• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Final Answer-bout mobos regis

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

oc jason

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Location
Fayetteville, AR
Getting a new mobo tonight-3 choices and i want opinions. MSI K7T Turbo-$112 total, Abit KT7A-$126 total-the 3rd is the Abit KT7AR-but i got a 7200rpm 60 gig HD and was thinking bout getting another to run in raid stripe 0, but would i ever use 120gigs of space anytime soon -if not ill just get a non raid board?? Thanks in advance guys
 
F

FRANK

Guest
>but would i ever use 120gigs of space anytime soon -if not ill just get a non raid board??<

Probably not now that "NAPSTER" is all but gone!

btw, I've had real good luck with the ASUS A7V133, which also has RAID

.
 
OP
oc jason

oc jason

Senior Member
Joined
Feb 12, 2001
Location
Fayetteville, AR
how much is the Asus A7V133-does it have the KT133"A" chipset, and how does it compare to the Abit-for stability and overclockability?
 

Breadfan

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
Northern VA
I'm very happy with my A7V in terms of a nice board.

But watch out for oen thing. Avoid the KT133 chipset! Get a board with the KT133a chipset. While debate may be around as to how great the via chipsets are, the kt133 is not good for oc'ing your fsb.

I can only oc my fsb to about 107mhz. (I have the kt133)

Were I buying new right now, I'd look for the 266fsb and DDR.

As for the best choice between MSI, ASUS, and Abit, I don't really know...I guess weigh features adn didn't the MSI have some reliability issues??...anyway...I just wanted to make sure you keep away from KT133 if you plan to oc your fsb.

Mike
 

Breadfan

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
Northern VA
LikuidFusion (May 14, 2001 10:37 p.m.):
how much is the Asus A7V133-does it have the KT133"A" chipset, and how does it compare to the Abit-for stability and overclockability?

I believe the A7V133 is the kt133a. The A7V is just kt133. Price should be comparable to Abit.

Mike
 

Breadfan

Inactive Moderator
Joined
Jan 4, 2001
Location
Northern VA
LikuidFusion (May 15, 2001 11:23 a.m.):
so the Iwill KK266 is a good DDR board-will that work with pc-100 164pin RAM

I don't think you can...you'd need atleast 200mhz ram to run at 200fsb in DDR, right? I don' think SDRAM modules are compatible with DDR...or I think that if you do use SDRAM you lose the point of having a DDR board...I'm a little unsure about this but pretty sure that your pc100 ram won't work on a DDR mobo.

Someone care to tell me if I'm right or wrong? lol
Mike
 

k-motion

Registered
Joined
Apr 29, 2001
hi..just to make one thing sure: the IWILL KK266 is NOT!!! a DDR RAM board. Since it is a SDRAM based board it can easily handle whatever SDRAM you want to stick in...

the IWILL DDR board is the KA266, i think