• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build - Couple questions - Please help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

n8dogg59

Registered
I’m looking to build my first pc and I’ve done a ton of reading/research over the past couple weeks but still have a few basic questions before I get started. After many hours reading through posts on this forum (and a couple others) it seems like you guys are the most helpful and knowledgeable forum I could find.

Here’s a quick explanation of my situation to start and I’ll try to keep it as short as possible. I’ve never built a computer and know very little. I day trade at home for a living and purchased a Dell XPS 8300 three years ago and run three monitors. During the day I’ll have my trading platform running along with browsing internet and watching movies during slow times. Recently I’ve had issues where my trading platform crashes and the solution to this would be to add another graphics card except after a lot of research I’ve found that is not possible with the xps 8300 because the case is too small along with a power supply that isn’t adequate. I’d like to build a computer but the budget is not very large so I’m looking to do it as inexpensive as possible and then upgrade over time. The two questions I have are below and thanks in advance for any help you can give me.

1) Can I reuse any of my current hardware in the new build to save money? I was thinking the memory, processor, hard drive, dvd player? I’ve listed all the hardware below if that helps.
2) When picking parts is there a correct order and can I buy things when I see a good deal? For example, should I start with motherboard then find a case that fits or vice versa. Any insight helps me.

CPU – Intel Core i7-2600 CPU @ 3.40 GHz, 4 cores, 8 logical processors