• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Build - Need Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Vorped

Registered
Hey there :D. I am a first-time computer builder, but I have a pretty good understanding of everything (moderately high). I wanted something for roughly $1500 or less. So, I have a few questions.

#1 I'm assuming that Xp is the way to go for now, right? Have media center atm.
#2 Is my choice that I shouldn't jump to 64-bit yet ok? Ram-wise, will 32 bit be able to get by with 2 gb on the GeForce 9 series in February, and still be able to take full advantage of the latest games?
#3 I plan to do a moderate overclock. My hardware would be able to support this nicely, right?
#4 I'm assuming that the hardware would work together.. are there any obvious mistakes with the set up?
#5 Any other suggestions?

Thank you very much for your advice. :)

Oh, btw, I'm getting everything from Newegg.

Future Rig:

Case:
COOLER MASTER Stacker 830 Evolution Black Aluminum ATX Full Tower Computer Case Real Power Pro 1000W

Power Supply
Price: $379.99 ($80 MIR)
Shipping: Free

140 mm fans:
AeroCool Streamliner-Silver 140mm Blue LED Case Fan [x4]
Total Price: $51.96

120 mm fans:
Thermaltake A2018 120mm Blue LED Case Fan [x3]
Total Price: $38.97

Motherboard:
ABIT IP35 Pro LGA 775 Intel P35 ATX Intel Motherboard
Price: $179.99 ($30 MIR)

CPU:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q6600 Kentsfield 2.4GHz 2 x 4MB L2 Cache LGA 775 Quad-Core Processor
Price: $279.99

Memory:
Patriot Extreme Performance 2GB 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Desktop Memory
Price: $69.99
Shipping: $4.99

Hard Drive: Have one in old computer atm upgrading when I can afford it: see upgrade section.

HDD Silencer:
SilenX LX-HDSS Aluminum, Steel HDD Silencer
Price: $26.99
Shipping: $5.84

Video Card: