• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First time Desktop Workstation - Just trying to get XMP to work.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Technocrat86te

Hi,

This is my first desktop PC I've built in 10 years, I have consistently using powerful laptops for Data Science. I decided to purchase a PC to optimize my workflow and open new possibilities using VM's.

I've never done OC before, but after watching a lot of these tech channels I was pretty sure that at least enable the XMP profile and get the memory speed of the box would be an easy task.

Yet here I am...

My system is a fresh build, selected the parts and guys from MicroCenter built it for me (I know I could have built it myself but I have handicap and the build was pretty expensive, didn't want to risk damaging what essentially is a business investment). Unfortunately the guy at Microcenter did not enable this stuff for me so I tried it my self.

My system:
TR 3960x
128 Gb G-Skill 3600 Mhz
3080 FE
MSI Creator MotherBoard

url]

The BIOS, I just basically ticked the XMP button, left everything else AUTO:

url]

url]

When I saved and exited the BIOs, after the computer tried booting I got a crash screen. Tried playing around with it a little but couldn't make the RAM memory to work at 3600 mhz.

Any advise for a newbie on how to troubleshoot this without me having to back to MicroCenter?

This is what I would try first:
1. Check CPU NB/SoC Voltage at 1.20V (I see it works at 1.1V)
2. Check DRAM CH_A/B and C/D voltage manually at 1.40V

If it won't work then just try a lower clock like DDR4-3200. Simply leave XMP enabled and change DRAM frequency to manual and next pick 3200.

Either way, if someone recommended you this PC and all components then I would contact with the store and say you have problems.

This is what I would try first: