• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Time Overclocking Help

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

bluesugar

Registered
Hey guys, this is my very first time building a PC and I have some questions about overclocking from people that might have a similar setup to me. The PC I just built:

Thermaltake Armor Series VA8000BWS Black Aluminum / Steel ATX Full Tower Computer Case

EVGA 122-CK-NF68-AR LGA 775 NVIDIA nForce 680i SLI ATX Intel Motherboard

Intel Core 2 Extreme QX6700 Kentsfield 2.66GHz LGA 775 Processor Model BX80562QX6700

BFG Tech BFGR88768GTXE GeForce 8800GTX 768MB GDDR3 PCI Express x16 HDCP Video Card

PowerTek 750W F5-Series ATX12V 750W Power Supply

Creative SOUND BLASTER X-Fi Fatal1ty FPS 7.1 Channels PCI Interface Sound Card

Kingston HyperX 2GB (2 x 1GB) 240-Pin DDR2 SDRAM DDR2 800 (PC2 6400) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory Model KHX6400D2LLK2/2G

2* Western Digital Caviar SE16 WD5000KS 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 3.0Gb/s Hard Drive

PLEXTOR 16X DVD±R DVD Burner With White bezel,AUTOSTRATEGY,PoweRec,10X DVD+R DL Write Black SATA Model PX-755SA.

I am interested in OC'ing the processor and would love some advice, feedback on similar setups that have been OC'd to a certain Ghz, or to just be pointed in a direction to do the research on my own. I am cooling the CPU with the stock fan that came with my Intel Chip, if that helps.