• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

First Time Peltier

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Miknow

I have dual p3 700e on an abit vp6 and I have a goal just to reach 1 gig each. But it gets pretty hot I have alpha's with AS II. I thought I would move to the next phase of o/c to reach my goal. I would try water cooling but for 2 cpus is kinda hard. This is my first time at peltiers. Is there things I should avoid or should I just slap on the peltier and turn it on. Dont know what wattage to buy or what to watch out for

Note: I have absolute zero experience with peltiers and watercooling. Anything I say I have taken from what I have heard others say.

With that said, I have heard that peltiers of any less that 172 watts are ineffective on CPU's. In tandem, you will not be able to cool the huge ball of heat that you will be creating with the pelt and your CPU with just and Alpha. You're going to need to watercool. I have seen aircooling used successfully with 80watt pelts but the hassle to benefit ratio is pretty low. That's my limited knowledge.

SickBoy