• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Flowmeter questions (I used the search feature before posting this)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Detho9000

Registered
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Location
Chicago IL
A couple questions on flowmeters:

First of all, are there any turbine/wheel style 1-7GPM flow meters available? I found a flowmeter at mcmaster.com but it's a panel mount flow meter....which I guess wouldn't be too bad, but I was hoping for a wheel style.

Secondly, are there any flowmeter that will hookup to a fan header on the motherboard for monitoring?

I did a search on flowmeters on the forums here but either the links to the website with the flowmeters were dead or they were $150+ or they just weren't what I wanted.

Anyone have any ideas or suggestions?
Thanks!

-D9k
 

Cheesy Peas

Member
Joined
Jul 2, 2002
Location
Rotherham,UK
i think inovatek make on, its called the flowomatic or something. It uses the RPM sensor plug for measuring flow so you can see through software too, which is pretty cool.
Get a link in a min for ya when i find it.
 
OP
Detho9000

Detho9000

Registered
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Location
Chicago IL
Thanks for the info!
I ordered up a Flow-O-Matic Electronic flow meter from sharkacomputers.com just now :)

-D9K
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
You do realize that hooking that flowmeter into a watercooling loop is going to kill your flowrate, right? (Unless your flowrate is already really low.)
 
OP
Detho9000

Detho9000

Registered
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Location
Chicago IL
Since87 said:
You do realize that hooking that flowmeter into a watercooling loop is going to kill your flowrate, right? (Unless your flowrate is already really low.)
That's like a tree falling in the woods

How do I know what the flow rate is if I don't put something in the line to measure it? But when I put something in the line to measure it, it modifies the flowrate. The only way I can get an accurate measure of the flowrate is to use a sonar.

But since I don't have any sonar flowrate measuring equipment, I'll have to rely on the Flow-O-Matic and an oversized pump to compensate for what I lose.

-D9K
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
Detho9000 said:

That's like a tree falling in the woods

Why do you 'need' to know what the flowrate is?

Using that flowmeter and an overly powerful pump, that dumps a lot of heat into the water, is not the way to an optimal system.
 
OP
Detho9000

Detho9000

Registered
Joined
Feb 15, 2002
Location
Chicago IL
I don't understand how you can tune your system if you don't know what's going on with it. Also, a flowmeter that hooks up to the fan header allows me to setup emergency events....like if there's no flow then I can have my machine power down. If I was really want to, I could have it send me a page saying the pump stopped and then have it power down.

Also, I'm not using a huge pump...but it does put out more GPH than is probably nessecary (swiftech MCP300, 330PGH w/ 1/2" OD hosing). However, a case with properly setup intake/exhaust should be able to vent that extra heat without a problem.

-D9K
 

Since87

Member
Joined
Jul 30, 2002
Location
Indiana
Detho9000 said:
I don't understand how you can tune your system if you don't know what's going on with it. Also, a flowmeter that hooks up to the fan header allows me to setup emergency events....like if there's no flow then I can have my machine power down. If I was really want to, I could have it send me a page saying the pump stopped and then have it power down.

Also, I'm not using a huge pump...but it does put out more GPH than is probably nessecary (swiftech MCP300, 330PGH w/ 1/2" OD hosing). However, a case with properly setup intake/exhaust should be able to vent that extra heat without a problem.

-D9K

It sounds like you want to use this flowmeter, and I'm not going to try to argue you out of it.

But, one tidbit...

If you have a Swiftech block to go with that Swiftech pump, 75% or more of the pressure drop in your system, may be across the flowmeter.