• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

folding on linux

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jeff Bolton

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2001
Location
Middle Peninsula Virginia
go to the folding website and download the folding client for linux (an .exe file). make a directory wherever you like for folding (mine is called 'Folding' in my home directory). put the execute in that folder. then open up a command line and navigate to the Folding folder. in the command line, type chmod +x FAH2Console-v219-Linux.exe .that changes the permissions on it so that it is executable. then, simply type in ./FAH2Console-v219-Linux.exe and set it up from there :). and when it asks if you are running through a proxy tell it yes lol. hope that helps.

jeff
 

robertm

Member
Joined
Oct 18, 2001
Location
Chesapeake, OH
Just let me add something because I need more post and it is helpfull! :)

Frist thing to do to the client is rename it to something else I use the format FAH219 so that I can look and see what version I have easy. This always saves you from having to type the long name in everytime to start it.

What I do is once I set up the client for my name and team number then I added the command "FAH219 >& /dev/null" to my boot.local file.

On a SuSE7 versions you can add this command to the filen boot.local in the directory /etc/rc.d

other distros might just call the file local and it might be installed under /etc/init.d it will depend on the distro you have.
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Renaming is a good idea - the filename is a bit big :D

Just out of interest, I was wondering if anyone knows why I can't change the permissions to allow executable access to all users? I try as root and it wont change? I can only get it to run in /tmp or /root, while as root.
 
OP
Ebola

Ebola

Senior Toilet Scrubber
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Rosemount, MN
This is messed. I got it to run but i keep getting "could not get ID from server. retrying......."
 

BBigJ

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2001
Location
Bay Area, CA
Unless you have some weird distribution of linux, you can type "FAH2Console-v219-Linux.exe" with three keystrokes: [shift]-[F] [Tab]. The tab fills in the rest of the filename (unless you have another executable in that directory starting with a capital-F.)

SBs
 

David

Forums Super Moderator
Joined
Feb 20, 2001
Ebola said:
I'm using mandrake 8.0 with kde

Did you enter the proxy server address when FAH asked for it? If 2.19 is giving you hassle, try an earlier version.
 
OP
Ebola

Ebola

Senior Toilet Scrubber
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Rosemount, MN
[settings]
username=ebola
team=32
asknet=no
userid=323230203139322E

[http]
active=yes
host=192.168.0.1
port=1080


# Linux Console Edition #######################################################
###############################################################################

[email protected] Client Version 2.19

http://foldingathome.stanford.edu
email:[email protected]

###############################################################################
###############################################################################

Benchmarking ...
- Ask before connecting: No
- Proxy: 192.168.0.1:1080
- ID = 323230203139322E

Loaded queue successfully.
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #1 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #2 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #3 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #4 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #5 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
+ Attempting to get work packet
- Connecting to assignment server
+ Couldn't get work instructions.
- Error: Getwork #6 failed, and no other work to do. Waiting before retry
 
OP
Ebola

Ebola

Senior Toilet Scrubber
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Location
Rosemount, MN
I think it might be the analoxx proxy program not letting stuff through. any ideas? recomendations?