• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Folding- Where do I begin........

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Evil-Mobo

So this is something I have been intending to get into since becoming ill 16 months ago. But I have no clue where to begin and just over whelmed frankly by all the information. I have a build going for the wife and one for me for benching/gaming and there are "extra" parts, so I was curious about Folding as I am in a position where for not a lot more funds in parts I can get a dedicated folding rig setup.

Any help here would be greatly appreciated.

folding now is all about the gpu, the 280x will be a good choice, the 860k and z87 will do also, you will need windows as an operating system for folding on amd.

grab some ram, a psu and other gear, get it booted and let us know when you are ready to began.

folding now is all about the gpu, the 280x will be a good choice, the 860k and z87 will do also, you will need windows as an operating system for folding on amd.

grab some ram, a psu and other gear, get it booted and let us know when you are ready to began.

Ok perfect then Ill grab a mobo for the 860 K. Is water cooling worth it for folding? the 280X is an ASUS Matrix Platinum.......

I have an ITx case here but sure that's not gonna work for folding right........

Also have an EVGA 650W G2 already for the 280X build. I can use the 500W bronze seasonic for the wife's build using the 750 Ti or another GPU if that sells......

a bit of overkill for a folding only rig, with a single card you can use a 550 watt psu I assume you will be using this rig for other things.
what other things will you be doing with it?

for cooling just the stock air cooler will be fine, you can under clock and under volt it as folding is all about the card and the cpu is only there to feed the card.