• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Free CPU Dead Already

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

DmdStar

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Madison, Wisconsin
Can you believe it??? The Duron I won in contest Week 6 is dead. :( I made the mistake of getting a super cheap heatsink for it, and chipped the stupid thing putting it on. Funny thing is, it ran fine for about 2 days until it just quit. Couldn't figure it out until I looked at the motherboard code, which said it was the CPU. Pulled it out, looked at it under magnifying glass, and sure enough, tiny chip off the corner. Ugh...

But, not to worry! I immediately ordered a replacement. See Rig 2 below. It has been replaced and then some! The fold shall continue!

Sorry I had to waste your money Wedo... but actually, my wife probably wouldn't have let me get this new rig if I hadn't won the CPU, so it's all good! ha!

Fold on...
 

CrashOveride

Member
Joined
Jun 22, 2002
Location
Beijing, China
i think wedo got em for free from some guy who was ready to throw em out or somthing... im sure he or someone else will enlighten us...
i got mine comign soon, jus tneed some memory for it and ill have it up:D it will be my "have fun with linux box" :D
 

OCn00b

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
DmdStar, you should rma it and get a new one ;) Seriously, sorry to hear about your bad luck.
 

looktall

Member
Joined
Jul 28, 2002
Location
perth.wa.au
were you running it with arctic silver?
i've heard of people having chipped cores that won't run with AS being able to run them with cheap generic goop.

the cheap stuff being non conductive means it doesn't short anything out.

worth a shot at least.
 

OCn00b

Member
Joined
Oct 14, 2002
If I were going to use something non conductive, I'd probably stick with the arctic family and get some arctic alumina. Although I don't have any experience with it so I don't know how well it works. I figure if it's made by the AS people, it's bound to be at least pretty good though.
 
OP
D

DmdStar

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Madison, Wisconsin
I was, indeed, using Arctic Silver. Interesting thought, but now I don't have anywhere to put it. :) ... Perhaps I'll experiment with that later. Good call!
 

ShadowCat66

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2001
Location
Oshkosh,WI
You could also try the new stuff Artic silver just put out,Ceramique,its not suppose to be conduct at all and its cheap too.I just ordered a tube to give it a try at sidewinder.com.They say it suppose to last longer and give better results than AS3.I cant confirm that as of yet,its just what I have read on the matter.
 

ShadowCat66

Member
Joined
Aug 20, 2001
Location
Oshkosh,WI
I just thought I would let you know how it went using the Ceramique.

Under load(folding) my [email protected] was at 37.2C(99F)that was using AS3.
Now with the Ceramique it is at 34.4C (94F) while folding.Its only been on there for 6 1/2 hours so far,I read on the webpage its break in time is 12 plus.
A few things about this stuff in my opinion,Its alittle harder to get an even layer,as a matter of fact I found it down right royal pain.It is alot thicker and likes to smear and is very tacky.While I am happy with it, (cheaper,better results for me) Only time will tell if it lasts longer with these results.
Just thought I would share this with you since I suggested using the stuff.
 
OP
D

DmdStar

Member
Joined
Mar 20, 2002
Location
Madison, Wisconsin
Thanks, Shadowcat! That's a nice improvement with just a different compound. Perhaps I'll give that a shot. Not only for this cpu, but my others as well.
 

DAGO

Curmudgeon
Joined
Aug 27, 2001
Location
Chico CA
Sorry to hear of your loss, but you sure seem to have recovered quickly...Nice replacement chip too...
Thanks for the Ceramique comparison as well, have been wondering what difference would be had by changing to the new stuff...Thats a decent improvement for sure...