• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

FSB Question

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

jeid_2000

Registered
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland
Would there be much difference between an Athlon 1300Mhz with 200FSB and an Athlon 1400Mhz with 266FSB?

Just wondering!

My system is running a bit hot just now, does anyone recommend a dual fan to go over my processor
 

Top Hat Theater

Member
Joined
Jul 24, 2002
Location
Lost in Thought
Yes to the first question. The extra 66MHz will help with memory bandwidth.

No to the second question. Mounting two fans (one on top of the other) is actually detrimental because it messes with the air pressure directly surrounding the HSF. You should mount a higher cfm fan instead.

~THT
 

The Coolest

Senior Member
Joined
Jul 29, 2001
You might want to get a quality heatsink like AX-7, SK-7, SLK-800 coupled w/ a high CFM fan (LOUD) but really effective I was able to get to much higher speeds with lower temperature when I switched CPUs from the old 1200tbird to this furnace1400 and put this Delta instead of some crappy fan I had there before, this heatsink is truly amazing I recommend it
 

maxima88

Member
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Higher FSB means greater memory bandwidth.

Using a dual fan hsf will not cool your cpu as well as a thermalright SLK-800 or SK-7 w/ a 80mm tornado or Delta 80cfrm fan. I got an extra 80mhz o/c from 1880mhz to 1963mhz when I switched from a thermoengine hs and delta 38 to the sk-7/delta 80cfm combo.
 
Last edited:
OP
J

jeid_2000

Registered
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Location
Aberdeen, Scotland
i bought a Cooler Master fan. seems good.

I bought the AMD Athlon 1.4Ghz 266FSB!

I've got 768MB PC133 SD Ram so it should go a bit quicker than the current setup i have!
 

PCphreak

Member
Joined
Jul 9, 2002
Location
Dayton, Ohio
jeid_2000 said:
Would there be much difference between an Athlon 1300Mhz with 200FSB and an Athlon 1400Mhz with 266FSB?
Just wondering!

My system is running a bit hot just now, does anyone recommend a dual fan to go over my processor

Is there a seat of the pants difference in all around use with an extra 500 MB/s (more-like 450 MB/s @ 90% efficiency) bandwidth? Not really, but you will notice it a little in some specific tasks, like a memory intensive 3D game for instance. That 450 MB/s may mean enough FPS extra to allow added eyecandy (like AA or Ani Filtering) to be enabled and the game still run smooth ...
What about an extra 100 MHz on the CPU? Nope...
You'll really only see that difference in benchmarks.

How hot is your CPU running & with what type of HSF?? If it's running to hot, a bigger fan may not be the total answer. But anyhow, it's better to have a single larger fan with an adapter.

-PC
 

GosuWar

Registered
Joined
Oct 30, 2002
Location
New Jersey
I wouldn't recommend overclocking your FSB at all if you're not using DDR Ram, lol. Considering that 66 Mhz bus speed is all that you'll NEED for PC133 ram... you wouldn't want to go any higher, as you could risk damage to your ram (not too sure bout that but), which is why most systems are 100 FSB. If you had 333 Mhz ram, which I have 400, and your CPU is 133 to start, I would recommend Oc'ing, which is my primary goal right now :O
 

Stryfe

Member
Joined
Mar 4, 2002
Location
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
GosuWar said:
I wouldn't recommend overclocking your FSB at all if you're not using DDR Ram, lol. Considering that 66 Mhz bus speed is all that you'll NEED for PC133 ram... you wouldn't want to go any higher, as you could risk damage to your ram (not too sure bout that but), which is why most systems are 100 FSB. If you had 333 Mhz ram, which I have 400, and your CPU is 133 to start, I would recommend Oc'ing, which is my primary goal right now :O

His bus is running at 133mhz, not 66. The doubling thing only applies to DDR (Double Data Rate) ram. And yes overclocking is possible with SDRAM, although maybe not to the extent it is with DDR. I was able to get my bus to 143 with my old generic SDRAM. It's not a huge difference, but it's something.