• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Future-proof Mobo + CPU Questions

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

chillz

Registered
I'm looking to build a new rig that will last a while. And before anyone says there's no such thing as "future-proof" I've been using my current PC for almost 10 years now, running an A8 APU on an Asus F1A75-V Evo. The only reason why I need to build a new rig is because I finally hit the APU's wall and can't play the latest Division 2 DLC. I don't think any of us can survive this self-isolation situation without our games.

Anyhow, I've done my fair bit of research and I've narrowed it down to a handful of SKUs:

CPU - Ryzen 5 3600X or Ryzen 7 3700X
Mobo - Asus ROG Strix B450-F Gaming or Asus Prime X570-Pro or Asus TUF X570-Plus Gaming

I was initially leaning towards the 3600X + ROG B450 combo as it's the most cost-effective pairing - around $400 CDN in savings. However, I was apprehensive with it's longevity potential - scalability, tech support, and BIOS upgrades are the main points of concern (not necessarily in that order). I've also read that gen3 Ryzen CPUs may be hindered in B450 or even X470 motherboard.

The 3700X was my first choice really, but it's the $150 CDN premium that's really making me hesitant. And I think it would be wasteful to put such a CPU in anything but an X570 board. So I did my comparisons and settled on the Prime Pro and the TUF Plus.

The Prime Pro has almost everything I need and want (including PCIE 4.0), and esthetically it looks great. The TUF Plus is pretty much the same and is (supposedly) more robust, not to mention almost $100 CDN less than the Prime Pro. But I'm not a big fan of the presentation.

Anyhow, esthetics aside, here are my questions: