• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Fx 8320 overclock to 4ghz on Asus m5a97 R2.0.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

krrishtm

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Hello guys , just wanna overclock my fx 8320 to stable 4ghz on Asus m5a97 r2.0 and ram to 1866mhz. I am following this guide from overclock.net. http://www.overclock.net/t/1318995/official-fx-8320-fx-8350-vishera-owners-club.
I am not sure about some things. I will provide pictures below.On Bios 2603 when I select manual mode for cpu and NB voltage, 3 settings :- Cool'n'Quiet, C1E and SVM disappears while on offset mode there are all six options Cool'n'Quiet,C1E,SVM,Core C6 state,HPC mode,AMp master mode. Please note there is no option of digi+ in this mobo. Should I downgrade to Bios v2601 ?
Mobo :- Asus M5a97 R2.0
CPU :- Fx 8320 Vishera
Ram :- Adata XPG v1 DDR3 2133 mhz. Timing 10 11 11 30 42 2t - 1.65v
Cpu Cooler :- CM hyper x 212 evo
PSu :- Corsair VS 650
Cabinet : Cooler Master Storm.
 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Two suggestions:

1. Put some small "spot" cooling fans on the VRM heatsink and behind the socket. 50mm fans seem to be about the right size. The motherboard you have has weak power phase components for overclocking an 8 core FX CPU. You really need to move up to an 8+1 power phase board.
2. Be content with running your RAM at 1866. The FX CPU line struggles to work with higher RAM frequencies than 1866. The processor's IMC (Integrated Memory Controller) is only rated for 1600 mhz.
3. Your CPU manual voltage setting in bios at 1.2875 is probably too low.
4. What are your CPU Load Line Calibration choices? YOU may need to take that off of Auto and set it to Very High if you have that choice.


"(about 80% settings right ? lol )" Not sure what you are intending to communicate here. What exactly are you referring to that is 80%? Your post feels rushed and rambling and it is difficult to follow and that may be why you have not gotten much response. Please slow down and form coherent sentences with complete thoughts.
 
OP
K

krrishtm

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Thank you Sir for assist me. I have 2 other option Enabled/Disabled in CPU /CPU NB Load Line Calibration.I will stick to 1866 mhz with timing 10-11-10-30 41.I will bump up the voltage to 1.3v for 4ghz.I will test the overclock using prime 95 with 1333mhz ram. After stable cpu overclock, ram to 1866 mhz and will run memtest.
 
Last edited:

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Thank you Sir for assist me. I have 2 other option Enabled/Disabled in CPU /CPU NB Load Line Calibration.I will stick to 1866 mhz with timing 10-11-10-30 41.I will bump up the voltage to 1.3v for 4ghz.I will test the overclock using prime 95 with 1333mhz ram. After stable cpu overclock, ram to 1866 mhz and will run memtest.

Sorry, buy what you said about setting your RAM frequency to 1866 and then changing it to 1333 mhz RAM to test with Prime95 did not make sense to me. If you have RAM rated for 1866 or better, just set it to 1866 and then run Prime. No need to set it as low as 1333. When you test it with Prime95 for stability you should be using the RAM speed you will normally be using it in your computing tasks.

The Prime95 blend test uses a lot of RAM so if you can pass it I wouldn't worry about Memtest86+. That one takes forever.

Set LLC to enabled.
 
Last edited:
OP
K

krrishtm

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Alright I've tested overclock for 1 hr. using prime 95 with 1866 mhz ram and no error whatsoever. With LLC enabled my temps go over 75°c(keep increasing). With LLC auto max temp was 64°c. All other settings I am providing screenshots. I have 2133mhz ram and timings are 10-11-11-30 42, but I am running at 1866mhz so I took 10-11-10-30 40 from XPG v1 DDR3 ram version. I think these are correct.Many Thanks
 

Attachments

  • CPU1.PNG
    CPU1.PNG
    517.7 KB · Views: 2,951
  • memory1.PNG
    memory1.PNG
    22.6 KB · Views: 2,943
  • memory2.PNG
    memory2.PNG
    23.6 KB · Views: 2,948
  • 160611091151.BMP
    1.8 MB · Views: 3,163
  • 160611091226.BMP
    1.8 MB · Views: 3,031
  • 160611091253.BMP
    1.8 MB · Views: 2,936
  • 160611091312.BMP
    1.8 MB · Views: 2,933
  • 160611091805.BMP
    1.8 MB · Views: 3,177

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Those memory timings look appropriate at 1866 mhm and you may even be able to get by with tightening them a little, especially if you bump up the voltage a tad.
 
OP
K

krrishtm

New Member
Joined
Dec 19, 2015
Hey thanks man,appreciate the help. Overclock is stable ,no freezing ,errors etc.
 
Last edited:

GWARslave119

New Member
Joined
Jul 17, 2017
Anyone here and/or awake to answer some questions about this old threaD?

Basically, I just wanna see what's the best bios setup for either a stable overclock, and/or just a good tweaked bios setup to maximize performance. Built this 2 years ago but never really understood a lot of the options during overclocking, which numbers/board parts correlate to others in terms of syncing (raising/lowering values) when overclocking. I used to know some stuff in the past, but since I never kept at it, I've forgotten most. Here's some screenshots in the next post to help show what i'm working with...
 
Last edited:

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
Gwarslave, your best bet is to start a new thread with your issues. You'll get more replies with a newer thread than one that's run it's course.

Best of luck and :welcome: to OCF