• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

fx-8320 throttling when overclocked by even 100mhz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Aletoivonen

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
So I overclocked my fx-8320 with the catalyst control center CPU overdrive. When I don't have the overdrive enabled, my processor is running on a stable 3,5ghz like it should, but when I enable the overclocking which should make it run at 4ghz, the frequency goes down to 1,5ghz during gameplay, and around 2ghz in windows. I ran the overdrive test, its required to even overclock via accc, and it easily ran 4ghz without heating too much. I tried increasing the freq just by a 100mhz, to make it run at 3,6ghz, but still the throttling happened, so its not a heat issue. So why doesn't the overdrive work at all even though the test did work?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Welcome!

First, what motherboard do you have this in? It may not be able to handle it (even though the CPU is on the support list, yes). At your earliest convenience, please create a signature with your system specs (may need to wait a couple of posts). If you cannot create one, please list your complete system specifications.
 
OP
A

Aletoivonen

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
I have the Asus m5a99x evo r2.0. It was not the cheapest but it wasnt very expensive either, around 120€. Ill make the signature first thing when I have time, posting from mobile atm
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
EVO is on an 'approved' list as it has a 6+2 VRM.. so it shouldn't be doing that.

Hopefully some of the AMD guru's get in here soon and help you out. Im an Intel guy... :)
 

DNRDustin

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Location
Pensacola, Fl
Sounds more like green features than throttling. Disable turbo core, cool'n'quiet, c1e, c6 states, APM master mode. Enable HPC. I found the functionality of AOD to be lacking, would be cool if it worked but I don't think it does. Best use I found for it was upping my vCore on the fly, and then use that info to apply settings in bios.
Check out the links. One of them's right there in EarthDog's sig. Read the stickies at the top of the AMD mobo/cpu forums.
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688663
http://www.overclock.net/t/1348623/amd-bulldozer-and-piledriver-overclocking-guide-asus-motherboard
 
Last edited:
OP
A

Aletoivonen

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
Sounds more like green features than throttling. Disable turbo core, cool'n'quiet, c1e, c6 states, APM master mode. Enable HPC.
I found the functionality of AOD to be lacking, would be cool if it worked but I don't think it does. Best use I found for it was upping my vCore on the fly, and then use that info to apply settings in bios.
Check out the links. One of them's right there in EarthDog's sig.
http://www.overclockers.com/forums/showthread.php?t=688663
http://www.overclock.net/t/1348623/amd-bulldozer-and-piledriver-overclocking-guide-asus-motherboard

Thanks. I got the cpu running at 3,7ghz, but, now accc tells me to do the oc test again. I cant change my clocks and they are stuck at 3,7ghz. I think it happens every time I change something in Bios. Is there a way to avoid this?
 

DNRDustin

Member
Joined
Sep 15, 2015
Location
Pensacola, Fl
Is there a way to avoid this?

Yeah, get rid of that crap ;)
Seriously, get rid of AOD and ACCC. You don't need it. AOD can be useful for adjusting voltage live, rather than having to boot to bios, but I've never seen anyone using ACCC. I wouldn't trust AOD stability testing either. You need Prime 95, HWMonitor, and CPUz
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
AMD OD isn't bad software but don't use it to OC. Do that from BIOS as was suggested. Like Dustin said make sure the C&Q is disabled along with APM and have HPC enabled. That should stop any throttling. I don't see any mention of a CPU cooler. What are you using the stock H/S ?
CCan you run Prime95 blend at stock speed? If so While it is running use HWMonitor free version to check temps and voltages. After about 20 minutes take a SS while it's running so we can see what's going on
 
OP
A

Aletoivonen

New Member
Joined
Jan 19, 2016
AMD OD isn't bad software but don't use it to OC. Do that from BIOS as was suggested. Like Dustin said make sure the C&Q is disabled along with APM and have HPC enabled. That should stop any throttling. I don't see any mention of a CPU cooler. What are you using the stock H/S ?
CCan you run Prime95 blend at stock speed? If so While it is running use HWMonitor free version to check temps and voltages. After about 20 minutes take a SS while it's running so we can see what's going on

Oh I forgot to mention I have a CM hyper tx3 evo, and my case is a zalman z9+ with 3 case fans. It isnt a heat issue cause it throttles if I OC it to 3,6ghz but using the Amd turbo core it can easily handle 3,7+ ghz. Something about the settings make it so I couldnt manually oc via softwares. Ill try to do stuff via bios and post results when I have time to experiment.
 

Waza

Member
Joined
Jan 21, 2014
Location
Finland
Oh I forgot to mention I have a CM hyper tx3 evo, and my case is a zalman z9+ with 3 case fans. It isnt a heat issue cause it throttles if I OC it to 3,6ghz but using the Amd turbo core it can easily handle 3,7+ ghz. Something about the settings make it so I couldnt manually oc via softwares. Ill try to do stuff via bios and post results when I have time to experiment.

Disable turbo core. That should fix the issue.