• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

General questions about GPU overclocking (GTX 960)

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

haoleflip719

Registered
Hello all. I am a little new to overclocking and I have been doing a lot of research before actually diving in and doing it, because I obviously don't want to mess up my new card. I just have a couple of basic questions that I hope some of you can answer for me. I have been seeing a lot of conflicting information and it is confusing me.

1. I have been watching different videos and guides where some people say that they don't mess with the Memory Clock because it is "too dangerous" or something, and to only set the Core Clock. However, I have seen other videos where people do recommend setting the Memory Clock as well as the Core Clock. Which advice should I take? What is the difference between setting the Memory Clock and not setting it? And when overclocking, should I set the core clock and test the stability of the core clock first before touching the memory clock? I can't seem to find a solid guide on how to OC this specific card....

2. I have found a couple of topics online that show other people's OC results with the same card, but when I try to mimic their settings, I can't seem to get anywhere near that high of settings. For example, I followed this guide here and tested the stability using Unigine Valley, but I can only get it to like +40mhz core clock before I start seeing artifacts and sometimes my video card will completely shut off then come back on again during testing with a message that says something about the display driver failing then starting back up again? If I can only get that high with the core clock, I'm afraid to even touch the Memory clock.