• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

gigabyte p35-ds3r need help with my bios oc config, getting desperate

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

srossnz

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
I've tried to make it as easy as possible to get help. I am including my bios config as it is (basically default). I am not all that clued up with OC'ing but would like to run my q6600 GO at 3.2 I have seen countless thread and posts but what I really need is someone to just flat out fill in the config below with what I should have. I would be forever grateful!! :beer:

My system config is:
Gigabyte p35-ds3r motherboard BIOS F11
Intel Q6600 G0 CPU
geforce 8800GTX 768 meg card
4GB corsair 4-4-4-12C4 memory
full tower silverstone case with windtunnel and huge zalman cpu fan

My current bios settings:

Advanced Bios Features
hdd smart capability - disabled
limit cpuid max to 3 - disabled
no execute memory protect - enabled
cpu enhanced halt (c1e) - enabled
cpu thermal monitor 2 (tm2) - enabled
cpu eist function - enabled
virtualization technology - enabled
init display first - pci

Power Management
acpi suspend type
hpet support - enabled
hpet mode - 32-bit mode

Motherboard Int. Tweaker
robust graphics booster - auto
cpu clock ratio - 9x
cpu frequency 2.4ghz (266x9)
cpu host clock control - disabled
cpu host frequency - 266
pci express frequency - auto
c.i.a.2. - disabled
performance enhance - turbo
system memory multiplier (SPD) - auto
memory frequency - 800 800
dram timing selectable (SPD) - auto
***standard timing control***
5 auto
5 auto
5 auto
18 auto
***advanced timing control***
act to act delay (trrd) - 3 auto
rank write to read delay - 3 auto
write to precharge delay - 6 auto
refresh to act delay - 42 auto
read to precharge delay - auto
static tread value - 4 auto
static tread phase adjust - 0 auto
***system voltage optimized***
system voltage control - manual
ddr2 over voltage control - normal
fsb overvoltage control - normal
(g) mch overvoltage control - normal
cpu voltage control - normal
normal cpu vcore 1.30000v

Once again, thanks for any help!
 

w2richwood

Member
Joined
Jul 23, 2004
Location
Alta Loma Calif.
first off :welcome: to the forum read some of the stickies at the top of the page so you have a idea how to go about ocing then come back and ask what ever you need or dont understand
Rich
 
OP
S

srossnz

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
I know I'm probably coming off as a freeloader but it's just I'm working 17hr days at the moment and have limited time. It would be great to get a concise starting point to go on for now and then when life returns to normal in a few months dive into OCing a lot more. I have done a bit of research but the learning curve is steep and I do not want to fry my system. I tried tweaking for a week or so but could never get stable on prime95..

Thanks
 

muddocktor

Retired
Joined
Nov 1, 2001
Location
New Iberia, LA
Here's a few settings you can try out and see if it helps your overclocking out:

Advanced Bios Features
cpu enhanced halt (c1e) - enabled disabled
cpu eist function - enabled disabled

Motherboard Int. Tweaker
cpu host clock control - disabled enabled
cpu host frequency - 266 350
performance enhance - turbo standard
system memory multiplier (SPD) - auto 2.00
ddr2 over voltage control - normal +.2-.4
cpu voltage control - normal 1.35-1.375v

These setting should give you an unoptimized overclock to around 3.2 GHz. When you have time to actually try to optimize the overclock, you will probably be able to tighten ram timings and fine tune voltages. Until you do some optimizing you will leave at least 3-5% performance unused.
 
OP
S

srossnz

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
Thanks! since my ram is c4 should i set my ram to 4-4-4-12?

Thanks again
 
OP
S

srossnz

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
ok i have applied those settings as well as setting my ram 4-4-4-12

before making the changes PC Mark05 gave me 8,359 pc marks
after the changes I got 9,874 pc marks (is that any good?)

I started the voltage at 1.375 and she was running a bit hot. Everest 4.5 gave readings of 69-70 on all 4 cores while running prime95 fftx4
I dropped the voltage 2 steps and running prime95 again, so far it's stable and load temps are 67-66-65-67
I'll let prime run for 15mins and if it seems ok bump the voltage down again to see if I can get cooler temps.
 
OP
S

srossnz

New Member
Joined
Apr 14, 2008
ok, i might be stable fft prime 95 load temp is 68-67-67-68
Is that temp ok?