• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Going water cooled

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Zoinks

First I would like to say what a great community! Lots of helpful people and a ton of terrific information. I have been lurking here for the past month or so. What started out as a desktop replacement project has morphed into a performance PC project. I'm a very experienced system builder but this will be the first water cooling setup for me.

I have the following hardware:

Motherboard: EVGA X58 Classified 3
CPU: i7 970 Hexacore
GPU: EVGA GTX 570 Superclocked in 2-Way SLI (Soon to be 3 Way)
RAM: G.Skill Ripjaw DDR3 1600 24GB
SSD: Crucial 256GB SATA III
Hard Disk: 2x Western Digital 2TB 6.0Gb/s SATA
Power Supply: Corsair AX1200

This system is currently residing in a Thermaltake Armor+ case but I will be moving it to a SilverStone TJ07. There are a number of threads here where others have documented their builds with this case, and they have been very helpful in assisting me in my decisions.

My first thought was to go with two loops, one for the CPU and another for the GPUs. But after spending several days reading and thinking about how I would benefit from all of this I decided that I am really fine with the stock GPU coolers. The fans definitely make a bit of noise when the cards are under load, but I don't find it so objectionable that I need to spend $500 or more on a dedicated water cooling loop to tame the noise. The GPUs never get above 77C under full load with the stock cooler so it isn't like I have a heat problem on my graphics boards that I need to address.