• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Gonna Do The RAID THING

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Raine

Registered
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Ok i got this KT7A running my AXIA 1000 (blue) at 10.5 x 133 (1400)
And oh my god is this thing fast....now I'm thinking about the raid i have a matching set of 10 gig drives and a 75 gig deskstar....I was thinking the raid on the two 10s on the ide3 with raid 0 just striping..and the 75 on ide4............. will i need to format the two 10s to set up the raid.....and if i read it right in raid 0 i will get all 20gigs out of these drives? I guess i want input from those of you who have walked this path already..Thanks in advance for the help
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
Raine (Apr 04, 2001 07:10 a.m.):
Ok i got this KT7A running my AXIA 1000 (blue) at 10.5 x 133 (1400)
And oh my god is this thing fast....now I'm thinking about the raid i have a matching set of 10 gig drives and a 75 gig deskstar....I was thinking the raid on the two 10s on the ide3 with raid 0 just striping..and the 75 on ide4............. will i need to format the two 10s to set up the raid.....and if i read it right in raid 0 i will get all 20gigs out of these drives? I guess i want input from those of you who have walked this path already..Thanks in advance for the help

I assume that you have the KT7A RAID. You are correct. When you enter the HighPoint BIOS it will force a format as part of the RAID 0 setup. You will get a single ~20GB drive on IDE 3.

Terry
 
OP
R

Raine

Registered
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
But after the format will i be able to reinstall my drive from a ghost 2001 image of the drive before formating...or will the (new) 20 gig config confuse ghost? also which format would you recomend ...stripping.... mirroring or stripping and mirroring
 

Metaxas

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2000
I love RAID, I have 2 drives running mode 0, I wonder what have 4 drives running mode 0 would be like? Man, that would be a butt load of storage space... :)
 

Tachyon

Senior Member
Joined
Jan 7, 2001
Location
Arkansas
Raine (Apr 04, 2001 07:31 p.m.):
But after the format will i be able to reinstall my drive from a ghost 2001 image of the drive before formating...or will the (new) 20 gig config confuse ghost? also which format would you recomend ...stripping.... mirroring or stripping and mirroring

If you have only 2 drives your choices are either RAID 0 OR RAID 1 but not both. If you mean install the OS from your current single drive I wouldn't recommend doing that.

Terry
 
OP
R

Raine

Registered
Joined
Jan 16, 2001
Alright buddy and thanks to all you guys for the help i'll let you know how it turns out.........