• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Got a question on pelts

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
I just got my very first ever pelt from DangerDen. It's the 156W one. I would like to know what I should get to make sure it has the power to run effectively. I tried hooking it up to an old Deer 250W PSU I have. I hooked it to the 12V and ground but I got hotter temps then just straight water. What should I do?
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
You need a pretty hefty PSU. Imax = 16.1 Amps, Vmax = 15.8 Volts The pelt will probably be more efficient at around 75% of it’s rated voltage. You don’t want to short it on current. There are plenty of 12 volt (really 13.8 volt) PSUs on the market. The Astron line for HAM use is a bit pricey. You might want to check here: www.mpja.com for a switching PSU.
 
OP
T

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Is there a way to do it with stuff around the house? I really don't want to have to go out and get ANOTHER PSU. I already bought 2 in the last 3 months.
 

Colin

Arctic Silver Senior
Joined
Dec 19, 2000
There was an article linked to on the home page about how to connect two or more computer PSUs. I don't have the link. You may want to check the home page or just do a search on pelts and power supplys in this forum. I know the link has been posted and discussed here.
 
OP
T

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
Next wuestion is how do I find the specs on my 156W pelt? There were no instructions with mine and few numbers on the dangerden site on this. And, if I were to link 2 PSU's, I would need MORE then 12V for the pelt. Could I wossibly get this by linking the 5V and the 12V connectors to the red wire on the pelt and then ground the black wire? Would this even work?
 

LimeyGreg

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Los Angeles
I assume you are looking for 17v. So your +5v of one psu is ground and the black wire is now -5v. The other psu is using the black as ground and the red +12v to give you 17v differential - BUT, and it's a biggie, you'd better isolate those supplies and keep the chassis of both apart from each other, unless you like sparks n' stuff. It can be done but it needs thought and care.
 
OP
T

Tacoman667

Member
Joined
Apr 28, 2001
Location
Kingwood, TX
God, this is such a pain in the butt. Might as well hook up 2 12V batteries in a series circuit and run it off those. Waaiitt.....