• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Got my AXP2400+ woohoo

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
yes it has now arrived, cant wait to get home from work now! Not be able to test it until 1900GMT...
Anyone have any experience with this stepping - AIUCB0242?

axp2400+.jpg

Heres a pic, 200x12 for 2.4ghz and DDR400 is my aim! :D
 

ntpphong

Member
Joined
Oct 12, 2002
Location
CA
your goal should be able to reach. i have to wait until nov, 2nd for my 2400+ to arrive, and i think it will be the same stepping.
 

Fever

Member
Joined
Sep 16, 2002
Location
Montreal, Canada
Sweet. :) I know that you can change the multi on KT400 boards without unlocking (or is it just the Asus board?), but is it possible to change it with a KT333CE board?
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Yes it is unlocked as standard, you have to bridge 5th L3 to enable all the low multipliers under 12.5 I think, I did it straight away. My KT333 Epox board allows manipulation of all multipliers.

Anyway not having much joy OCing it, these TbredB cores seem to run extremely hot, I mean at the moment I am running 190x11 for 2100mhz, but it needs 1.7v, and its only a 40mhz overclock! Ive seen 57c in Prime95, about 55c on SETI. I tried 190x11.5 and got an error in Prime95 after about 3 iterations, that was with 1.825vCore, and hitting 60c.....this baby idles at over 40c!
So my initial hour or so of testing hasnt produced the results I anticipated. I reckon you need water or phase change to overclock these babies well.....
Perhaps the high FSB is limiting my processor speed overclock, so ill try a lower fsb/ high multi combo (well maybe 166x13.5 or 14) tonight. Ill also try and post some screenshots/benchies but not that impressed at 2.1ghz so gonna try for more first.
Is my coolermaster heat pipe just not good enough for this processor? Its definetely my cooling holding me back Im sure...
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Hmm, seems good OC, maybe the Heat pipe isnt all that or the CPU diode is not being read properly. Its a lot hotter than my old XP1600+ was at 1.9v
Your benchies are good but wouldnt be happy with 150FSB, I am a seti freak and even if I could get a few more mhz at 150FSB it would mean so much less memory bandwidth and therefore lower WU times...Im gonna try and get stable at 190x11.5 and Ill be happy...
 

Jadawin

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Yes, I know, 150 Mhz FSB is not THAT good, but having in mind that my board does not provide multiplier settings it is all that I could achieve. And that the gain of higher FSB with lower multiplier is not enough for me to buy a now board or mod the K7S5A. :)

But of course I am curious what my cpu could do, I can't check that with my config right now.
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Ahh thats a pain not being able to manipulate multiplier, my old Jetway was like that and I ended up changing all the bridges on my Duron to set the multi....Im off home now to do some more testing...
 

EluSiOn

Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
Location
SC, USA
I got my AMD Athlon XP 2400+ 2 days ago and I am not able to unlock my CPU using the L1 Bridge method and only until today I found out the L3 5th Bridge one connection method. :D I am going to try to unlock my CPU again

I am also using the heat pipe heatsink from Cooler Master HHC-001, running default speed idling, the CPU temp is 40c. After I change my FSB from 133 to 166 with multipler at 15, vol @ 1.85, my system boot but was extremely unstable. I couldnt get Window XP to load. After I change the FSB to 152 mhz with multipler at 15, vol @ 1.85, the system works great and stable. Idel Temp 43C and after playing Q3 for an hour temp is at 47C
Is there any other successful story about OC AMD XP 2400+?


------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

My current system
  • CPU: AMD Athlon 2400+ XP OC to 2800+ **
  • Motherboard: Epox 8KHA+ (KT266A Chipset)
  • RAM: PC2100 512mb
  • Video Card: VisionTek GeForce 3 64mb
  • Sound Card: SBlive Platium 5.1 + Live Drive
  • Speaker: Klipsch Promedia 5.1 (500w)
  • Monitor: 21inch ViewSonic 0.21 dpi Flatsurface
  • Mouse: MS IntelliExporer 3.0 (InFr)
  • LiteOn 48X CD-R
  • Hauppauge WinTV Card
  • 110 GB HD space Total (3 HD)
 
Last edited:
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
My best OC so far - not prime95 stable though - 2266mhz, runs sandra etc, benchies here
Got a 2.50hr run on SETI Benchmark, makes it 2nd fastest I think apart from hipro's crazy P4. This was a 190x11.5 which I am running now for a bit at 1.85v.
My multis are all screwed up though, I cant run 133x15.5 which is the default setting as my board only goes up to 15x.
(bios setiing=actualsetting)
x13=x12.5
x14=x5
x15=x5.5

x12 and lower alll work, theres a wcpuid on my page for 166x5 at 1.4v for a laugh! Its stable surprise!
 

Jadawin

New Member
Joined
Oct 31, 2002
There are no x.5 multis above 15, those are "reserved" :) that would explain why 15.5 does not work. The default is 15 btw. not, 15.5.
 
OP
markodude

markodude

Member
Joined
Jul 15, 2002
Location
Europe
Weird its marked on the site I got it from as 2.06ghz, which is 2600+ isnt it! Doh, oh well 2.2ghz is a reasonable OC then! Heres the detail on the site...

"LN4498 AMD Athlon XP 2400+ (2.06GHz) "Thoroughbred" Core 144.50 169.79 "