• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GPU editions better if going to water cool?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Juan71287

Hi all. So I am new at this and need some help.

I been seeing a lot of videos online and something came to mind because of what someone said. He mentioned that his 1080 SC comes with better clock speeds right out of the box and better blower fans and ACX 3.0 cooler so he will get better thermals. That made me think and ask this question.

Would the cheapest 1080 or 980/Ti be able to OC and do everything the same way an expensive 1080 or 980/Ti with SC and ACX coolers if I am going to take everything off the card for water cooling?

If my questions is hard to understand I'll try to explain again. Since I don't know much I know it might not make sense.

Thanks.

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
it should... yes. However, the power delivery systems on some of the higher end cards are more robust allowing for more power and more stable power to reach the GPU/Memory. If you plan to push your overclocks under water, I would make sure the card is not a 'reference' design as far as the PCB/Power delivery.

OP
J

Juan71287

Thanks so much for the information. Appreciated.

How would I know if it's not reference for the PCB and power delivery

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Look at a picture of the PCB beside a picture of a reference PCB.

If you're not planning to mod the BIOS, go reference with a nice full cover block.
A good full cover block will also water cool the VRM's, keeping their temp way down.

If you're planning to mod the BIOS you want to stick to a modified PCB, but you'll want to double check there is a block for it first.

LoneWolf121188