• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GPU for a k6-III setup.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
So I have this socket 7 setup, but I'm not sure what gpu to use in it full time.
It will be use for benching for the most part, but when not benching I'll play a old game or 2.

system

3 sticks of 128mb cl3 pc133 ram.
asus P5A-b mobo (has agp)
amd k6-2 500mhz (will upgrade to a k6-3)


I'm thinking of a s3 2000, but I can't find any. I could also use a s3 savage 4, banshee or voodoo 3 as well.
There a many other options too.

What would you use?
I'm thinking of a savage with a voodoo 1
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
You won't have a lot of options any more. Whatever you can find really.
Seems to be a few Rage cards on ebay
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
You won't have a lot of options any more. Whatever you can find really.
Seems to be a few Rage cards on ebay

I don't fallow? old GPU's are everywhere online. Sure some are rare like the s3 2000, voodoo5500 and the dual gpu rage card.

Right now there are about 40 banshee's, 20 savage's, a handfull of old maxtor cards, voodoo 3's and crap ton or rage and riva card on ebay. And that's just ebay.
 
Last edited:

Kenrou

Member
Joined
Aug 14, 2014
Voodoo 2/3 was better for AMD k6 as far as i remember, 3DNow! optimized.
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
I just had a quick look. And it seemed the voodoo prices were kinda high for an old project like this one
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
That's ebay for you. 3dfx card are listed at crazy prices there. Some one see a super rare card like a voodoo6k or quantum card sell for thousands and everyone comes out of the wood works to list their worthless cards for crazy prices.

But 3dfx cards away have a high demand, they even go for higher prices on 3dfx sites and Amigabay over other cards.
Its only gotten worse since frenchy (The guy that used playdoh to cool a voodoo6k) bought up alot of the rarer cards and voodoo5500 only to kill them.


Price is not a big deal here, so long as its under 50$ I'm cool. I had the rest of the parts already. Although 20$ would be better.

I'm thinking that a voodoo1 and s3 savage would be the best setup for the games I play, but it's not a very powerful setup...
And there is endless options for a system like this.
 
Last edited:

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
I really didn't think it would make a whole lot odf difference in the end so might just as well save a few bucks.
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
That's like buying a 8500 to play crysis...
Just saying.
Old cards can be slow too. Ever tried to play MW2 on a s3 virge? the FPS are low even at 320x240. Heck the game is barely playable at 640x480 with a virge, even using the S3D API.
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
Guess that's the difference I wouldn't built something like that to play games.
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
Guess that's the difference I wouldn't built something like that to play games.
Not a problem. Your not the only one.

I have a lot of older games I like that use old API's that only work with older hardware. Sure there is a emu for glide, but what about s3d, PowerSGL, ATICIF and MSI?
Then there are game's like RE2 that need a cretin driver inputs, and MW2 hates anything other then 95/98.
Oh and did I forget to mention some games need certain sounds cards too... But there is a emu for just about every old sound card stander.

It can get annoying to get some older games to play on new system without running them in software rendering mode, VM's and emu's.



EDIT:
I think I'll go with a savage 4 extreme and a voodoo1
That should cover just about everything. GLide, S3d and DX.

I just bought a Diamond Stealth III S540 32mb for 5$ shipped, so I can use the rest for the voodoo1.
 
Last edited:

Evilsizer

Senior Forum Spammer
Joined
Jun 6, 2002
wish i could remember which V3 i have, cant find it. i do happen to have some V5's i got off ebay, most didnt work in 3d mode, one does but artifacts. i have one mac PCI V5 5500, that you can flash to a PC bios but you lose being able to use the DVI connection. i havent been able to test that card, i did buy it as working but who knows at this point.

of all the cards from that era of 3D, 3DFX had the best IQ and speed balance. remember the Quake 3:area 3DFX map they did and show cased on V5 5500 hardware with FSAA either at 2x or 4x and not taking a FPS hit. man those were the days, its a shame we lost them, i like to image where they might be today...
 

JLK03F150

What have I done! Member
Joined
May 17, 2005
Location
Georgia
I had an AMD k6 450 paired with a Diamond Stealth & Voodoo 2. It was a Quake 2 beast. Good times... :)
 
OP
S

saturn

Disabled
Joined
Dec 31, 2015
wish i could remember which V3 i have, cant find it. i do happen to have some V5's i got off ebay, most didnt work in 3d mode, one does but artifacts. i have one mac PCI V5 5500, that you can flash to a PC bios but you lose being able to use the DVI connection. i havent been able to test that card, i did buy it as working but who knows at this point.

of all the cards from that era of 3D, 3DFX had the best IQ and speed balance. remember the Quake 3:area 3DFX map they did and show cased on V5 5500 hardware with FSAA either at 2x or 4x and not taking a FPS hit. man those were the days, its a shame we lost them, i like to image where they might be today...

View attachment 176954
View attachment 176955