• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

GTX 980ti vs GTX Titan...what one uses less power?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
I heard that steam machine beta all use ST45SF-G even the Titan ver.(can't conferm that, I googled it and all I couldnfind was they all use the same power supply) Right now I have the ST45SF-G, can it run an GTX 980ti or does it use more power then a GTX titan? Also I would just get a SX600-G, but it seem to have a high fail rate newegg reviews....(Has to be an SFX power supply.)
 

ATMINSIDE

Sim Racing Aficionado Co-Owner
Joined
Jun 28, 2012
Titan or Titan X?
The 980Ti has the same TDP add the Titan X.
 
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Titan or Titan X?
The 980Ti has the same TDP add the Titan X.

Just an Titan, not an Titan X...just was wondering which used more power and if the supply I have is enough for 980Ti. Why an Titan, to compair them so if the supply I have is not enough for 989Ti....I could just get an Titan.
 
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
If your psu is this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817256084, then no.

The Titan's Total Power Draw is 250w. The 980Ti's Total Power Draw is also 250w. This is gaming loads. Your psu is not enough. You're going to need something beefier like an EVGA SuperNova G2 series unit.

Thats what I don't get is how can the steam machine beta with Titan work with same PSU? ( still googling spec for the the titan very, but all i can find is that they both use the same PSU) Same specs as an steam machine beta titan, but mine has an i5 with gtx780 and the Titan came with i7 and..well a Titan.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I don't see why it wouldn't work with that psu...

Look at our reviews with 980ti... I peaked, when HIGHLY OVERCLOCKED on the gpu, at around 402W (which is also at the wall, so around 360w actual).

The cpus in steam boxes are not overclocked, nor would the gpu.

Anyway, I would still opt for a quality 550w unit for more headroom and quiet opertion. Evga g2 or by 550w is right for Intel based cpu and single gpu while overclocking both on ambient.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Look at our reviews on the front page and save yourself some time...

Sorry 410W at the wall (@ 1533 mhz core and 1952 mhz memory)-http://www.overclockers.com/asus-rog-matrix-gtx-980-ti-platinum-edition-video-card-review/
 
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Size of the case and the power supply is [125 mm (W) × 63.5 mm(H) × 100 mm(D)]. Cant find others that size with a range of 550w or higher w.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Well, I would run it.. and IF the fan noise gets to you, then go get another. I think you will be fine. You are aware your gtx 780 is a 250w card also, right? So if you can tolerate what is happening now, it won't be any different. ;)
 
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
With the one I have or The 600w one?

Edit: I was not aware lol...oh....>,> I wished they had more choices with higher SFX, so I can make this gift last from Gabe Newell.
 
Last edited:
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
Does it matter what ver. of 980 ti, should I just get the base ver.?
 
OP
gohanhd

gohanhd

Member
Joined
Dec 25, 2012
So far it seems fine with a 980 ti, had to remove faceplate over the display ports to get to fit . Since its a compact case I wished I got the stock ver. of the 980 ti. I Thought all cards vent out the back...so I hoping maybe I can switch it for an stock...problem not right?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
If the 980Ti you bought is reference, it would be fine, if it is not, then it would not fit.

But, which one did you buy? Update your signature. :)