• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Half decent tiny gaming box

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
I go visit my brothers often enough that it is getting frustrating to lug a larger PC around so we can lan, it will be gaming at 1080P, the games do not have to run at max settings at that resolution, but I want this to be tiny. I just ordered another Antec ISK-110 and plan to use that as the basis. I will be grabbing a better PICO-PSU for it (probably a Z4-ATX-200 unless someone knows of a better option?).


I am thinking that with an AMD A10 7860k and a Gigabyte GA-F2A88XN-WIFI (I can get the board for $35).


I also have a couple of these antec cases and I bet I could stuff an r7 250 low profile into it with a riser cable. Can I use the onboard video output with a standalone graphics card installed? and does anyone happen to know if the wraith cooler amd offers will clear the top panel of the Antec ISK-110?


So tenative parts list would be:


http://www.microcenter.com/product/445113/GA-F2A88XN-WIFI_FM2_Mini_ITX_AMD_Motherboard


http://www.microcenter.com/product/..._4_Core_FM2_Processor_with_Radeon_R7_Graphics


http://www.ebay.com/itm/252479215436


http://www.ebay.com/itm/282121780873


this is already on its way ($55 with promo code)


https://jet.com/product/Mini-ITX-wi...ni-ITX-Mothe/b87f2a451a1b4f8e83f7cf534438f30e
 

Mjolnir

Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2009
Location
Sydney, Australia
I would've personally opted for a different case. It may be small, but it's relatively inconvenient. Something like the SG13 would've been much easier to work around and fit a proper graphics card very easily. A simple 300w SFX PSU from their Bronze line, the AMD 860K + RX 460 or something could've worked? Granted this may end up more expensive, but it's something I would've looked into.

Not sure about the wraith cooler.. It may not fit. There's really not much room in that case. :\
 
OP
cdawall

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
I would've personally opted for a different case. It may be small, but it's relatively inconvenient. Something like the SG13 would've been much easier to work around and fit a proper graphics card very easily. A simple 300w SFX PSU from their Bronze line, the AMD 860K + RX 460 or something could've worked? Granted this may end up more expensive, but it's something I would've looked into.

Not sure about the wraith cooler.. It may not fit. There's really not much room in that case. :\

I have a couple with AM1 setups in them they work great for those. Price wasn't really the issue I just wanted tiny, I might wait Zen out and hope they stuff polaris onto them and then I wont need an add on GPU.
 
OP
cdawall

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
Well I just grabbed a 7860K for a very good price, so I guess it is getting one of those. I will try the thing out with just the APU it might be fine for the little gaming it will see.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
APU+1080P+BF1 at anything near decent settings=you're going to have a bad time. That's one game I don't think you should get your hopes up about with this machine if you're going to be using APU graphics. They've gotten really good over the years, but that's no RX480 you've got there. I'm not trying to put you down or insult your decision, I just don't want you to be disappointed the first time you fire up BF1 on that thing. I think you need to have reasonable expectations and you might want to scratch BF1 off the list of games you want to run on that machine... Unless you want to run it at low settings and possibly even at a res below 1080P.
 
OP
cdawall

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
APU+1080P+BF1 at anything near decent settings=you're going to have a bad time. That's one game I don't think you should get your hopes up about with this machine if you're going to be using APU graphics. They've gotten really good over the years, but that's no RX480 you've got there. I'm not trying to put you down or insult your decision, I just don't want you to be disappointed the first time you fire up BF1 on that thing. I think you need to have reasonable expectations and you might want to scratch BF1 off the list of games you want to run on that machine... Unless you want to run it at low settings and possibly even at a res below 1080P.

It'll likely be on a TV, and I already know it wont play all high settings. I never expect that out of a throw away box like this. Point is mobility and I understand the inherent performance loss due to that.
 

Ivy

Member
Joined
Jun 7, 2011
Whats the case? https://www.google.ch/search?q=Ante...QAhXEcBoKHYPzBnsQsAQIGg#imgrc=r6JT0lZ9C06gQM: ?

Well, a PS4 PRO would do the trick (just to bad no custom LAN possible)... unfortunately PC tech is not advanced enough dealing with this sort of proportions but a http://forums.bit-tech.net/showthread.php?p=3459665 will do the trick, at increased size (usually this is the sort of stuff used on LAN parties). If this is not valid... just don´t expect to use high settings (even medium settings is for many games a challenge), not even on 1080P... simply out of luck but this was intended.

Issue solved it seems... it may work in many ways, low demand is one of the possible ways.
 
Last edited:
OP
cdawall

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
Most of the time we are only playing borderlands 2 co-op, this should run that and overwatch fine at 1080P med/high settings. I don't expect the world out of it, but hope to be pleasantly surprise. The CPU is sitting in customs so it should be here in a day or two.
 

Theocnoob

Member
Joined
Dec 1, 2007
Location
Near Toronto Canada
You won't be doing very well in overwatch vs PC players if you're on a TV. Input lag and response times are crummy (and sometimes downright deplorably horrendous) on TVs because TV manufacturers can get away with it, and because of all the post-processing modern TVs do. Playing against PC players that have things like 165Hz monitors with 1ms response times etc with a TV you're going to fair poorly. Not knocking your idea I just want you to know what you're getting into.
 
OP
cdawall

cdawall

Member
Joined
Feb 4, 2009
Location
cypress, tx
I don't play competitively I will live on that part. I have a nice 1440P 144hz ROG TN setup I can use if I ever get super excited.