• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hard drive changing

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Makkarah

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
Ok so I grew tired of my maxtor keeping huge noise, so I bought a seagate hard drive, but I don't want to install everything once again. So I was thinking Norton Ghost to image everything from the old to the new one.
Here's the problem, I got Norton Ghost as a bundle with my Epox motherboard, but it doesn't work in Windows NT/XP. So how am I supposed to run it? :confused:
 

stool

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 20, 2000
Location
Albany, NY
I'm pretty sure you can use the Powermax software that came with the Maxtor to make a complete image of your C: drive and then put it on the new one.
 
OP
Makkarah

Makkarah

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
My Maxtor came as a bulk. So no software with it. And it's partitioned to 5 pieces. I just want to image everything on it to the new one and then sell it away.
 
OP
Makkarah

Makkarah

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
Thanks for the link, downloading it now. Should've known to check the logical site first (Seagate). :rolleyes:


EDIT: Well, it's done now. Thanks again for the link! Never seen so easy program for partitioning and copying C:\ contents!
 
Last edited:
OP
Makkarah

Makkarah

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
Is there any way to change the hard drive lettering? Currently this is the only drive I have, just changed, copied all contents of the old one. I have C:, J:, K:, L: and M: drives.
I'd really would like them to be C:, D:, E:, F: and G:.

On the other hand, changing the hard drive was a good thing, did some cleaning too. No wonder my processor temps were a little high... :p

nodust.jpg
 

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Location
Bloomington, IN
Are you in XP? I think if you go to disk tools in the system admin tools, you might be able to. If you can't find it, I'll try to look on my XP machine at home later tonight. -- Paul

BTW, for those WD users who may be reading this thread, WD has recently updated thier tools to work with winXP. Thier interface for installing a new drive is really pretty nice. (even has some limited mouse support.) Just a FYI. -- Paul
 
OP
Makkarah

Makkarah

Member
Joined
Feb 7, 2002
Location
Tampere, Finland
macklin01 said:
Are you in XP? I think if you go to disk tools in the system admin tools, you might be able to. If you can't find it, I'll try to look on my XP machine at home later tonight. -- Paul

I love you! Shows how much I still have to learn about... Windows. :burn:
 

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Location
Bloomington, IN
Ahh, thanks. Well, that's why we're all here -- to help everyone else out and to spread knowledge. Have fun! -- Paul
 

PYROMANIAC

Member
Joined
Dec 11, 2001
Location
Houston, Texas
you can download the maxblast program to copy the image over..also your seagate should of came with some kind of software to do that..................
 

macklin01

Computational Oncologist / Biomathematician / Mode
Joined
Apr 3, 2002
Location
Bloomington, IN
Well, bare drives don't always come with the software, but you should be able to d/l it. -- Paul