• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[Hardware mod only] PowerHacintosh i5 - Work in progress

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Pics of a successful Snow Leopard install:

d14c78e8588450307b7046672906e183.jpg


611635fc0c3e5a3437d1ff28ab272f7b.jpg


7b4fa044238a7967b4b0f5b6bd64ff05.jpg


4b1093608b5a23210e2d645ea82ab3bf.jpg
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Yup, went to the hardware store tonight and grabbed four bolts, four wingnuts, four locking nuts, four neoprene washers and four nylon washers. Those will be used to mount one of the G5 blocks to my CPU, just need to make a mount top plate.

I manually changed the CPU name from displaying as "Unknown" by editing a system file. Still need to make it display as a Mac Pro vs an iMac, I think the reason it shows as one is because this is 10.6.0 and the iMacs were probably the only Core i apples at the time 10.6 came out.

Some screen shots:

bb5c22d9c53b78d8ffbad351132f7d2f.png


541c6e9cee8c0eadcffa330c5cb19097.png


1920x1080 Desktop Screenshot

Very satisfied with this so far, good things to come!
 

Dooms101

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Location
under a heatsink
Wow seems great! You said you're mounting the G5 blocks on your cpu? :confused: So you're saying the G5 comes with water cooling (I don't keep up to much with Mac)?
 

fall

Member
Joined
Dec 15, 2010
Location
Arlington
very nice! i mis my hacintosh :( i still have the retail CD too. I think ill build a new machine just for hacintosh :D
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Wow seems great! You said you're mounting the G5 blocks on your cpu? :confused: So you're saying the G5 comes with water cooling (I don't keep up to much with Mac)?

Indeed, just google for G5 water cooling. A pump basically the same as a MCP355, two copper blocks, and a sweet lil aluminum radiator.
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Well folks, a lot of trial and error! I thought I had ruined my install after updating from 10.6.0 to 10.6.6. Here's some things to note about this update, a USB rollback kext is required or your mouse and keyboard will not work, and in my case audio stopped working. My solution, enable screen sharing + VNC control in system preferences. I then did the standard software update just like on my MacBook Pro, updating everything and rebooting. Then, via VNC, did the USB rollback using multi beast and rebooted. From here, I tried many audio kexts with no luck, aswell as an audio rollback that didn't work. Finally I downloaded the latest VoodooHDA package from their website, deleted all my audio kexts installed, then installed voodoo. It's its own package, so no kext utility or multi beast required.

That's the only bit of the software side I feel the need to share, because other than that this was about as easy as installing windows. Now that I know what was needed to be done, it would indeed be that easy a second time with this board.

Some new screen shots:

a469464d9715db516c9e0893a9f9722b.png


6569b88383f4dc4482deb5d79af10c20.png


f29648e65294c0639a931200731e20ca.png


14a23cc9aa53487228d43eb8c2e65902.png


e6e7bcb99b31c3916635cb134d0ca1aa.png


Also, this Mac now has bluetooth :) BestBuy had a USB dongle for $6 or $7 on clearance so why the heck not? May be using an apple bluetooth set again.
 

Dooms101

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Location
under a heatsink
SB uses EFI? I didn't know that... then again I don't know a ton about EFI anyways xD I was under the impression that only Apple logic boards use EFI.
 

Neuromancer

Member
Joined
Oct 11, 2005
Location
Tau'ri
SB uses EFI? I didn't know that... then again I don't know a ton about EFI anyways xD I was under the impression that only Apple logic boards use EFI.

IIRC MSI and ASUS Sandy Bridge use EFI, Gigabyte does not yet but intends to.

Actually EFI has been in the works for a long time for PCs, Windows Vista and 7 both support it in 64bit mode.

TBH I am not sure of the particulars myself... I will look into it though.
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Not sure, but the blog I've been reading to assist me (tonymacx86.blogspot.com) mentions OS X on sandy bridge. I mean, from where I look at it, on a non EFI system I don't really have any problems. You just install a boot loader and after you boot into OS X It's all the same anyway. That's how I understand it anyway.
 

Dooms101

Member
Joined
Dec 28, 2009
Location
under a heatsink
Not sure, but the blog I've been reading to assist me (tonymacx86.blogspot.com) mentions OS X on sandy bridge. I mean, from where I look at it, on a non EFI system I don't really have any problems. You just install a boot loader and after you boot into OS X It's all the same anyway. That's how I understand it anyway.

I wonder if you'd even have to use a boot loader, maybe the Apple one would work fine on an EFI board.
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
@GIXXERGUY6,

I'm not into all that flashy custom crap, I set out to convert a G5 into a Mac Pro, so keeping it as realistic as possible ;)


@ Neuro,

Negative. I installed PC EFI to the drive, replaced the DSDT.aml file, the boot file, and initially replaced the kernel... but I think the 10.6.6 update re-replaced that kernel with an Apple kernel supporting P55 anyway.
 
OP
Ben333

Ben333

Folding for Team 32!
Joined
Feb 18, 2007
Well it's been a LONG day. Finally its just about done, and I'm really very happy with how it turned out. There's a bunch of pics in the middel, and more description but I'm too tired to manage all that right now. Enjoy some near finished pics I just snapped:

0f3e758eacf41ee773a6701565629684.jpg


5d7aee3f30b59870a1ca042d0c3fc30d.jpg


ee3fdfda1ba63571248ee05b75243b9e.jpg


6cf2fa1851fa5b6e03db4b6037e5555e.jpg


c4466befeccc8faea9ef6e16ef419efa.jpg


fc10d16e95b7913244d2731ea6a30b83.jpg


Progress pics to be up soon, and pics with this set up at my desk.

Anyway, I myself certainly like it, and I think I've done something that no other G5 to Intel modder has done is left it as original and standard as possible. At least in a practical way. The cooling system is great, so is apple's design with the dividers -- that's why I kept it. Very good CPU temps with everything on 5V... and on 12V this thing is in super-benching mode, sounds just like a noisy dual CPU server at boot up (because even those don't run the fans maxed all the time). I have a 20A switch in the back to toggle 5 or 12 volts, but doubt I'll ever run it on 12 unless I'm doing some heavy work and am out of the room for a while, then I suppose it's a great feature to have.