• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Hardware noob with a new system need some tips.

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Fokuz

Registered
(Irrelevant presentation information jump to underscored part, if you are uninterested in my tendency to over-formulate my self.)

Hi folks and pros, just bought my first Desktop computer which I self assembled a couple of months ago, it was a tricky project and a lot to read as I'm the type of person who always want to make optimized decisions, but at the same time I was limited by a pretty tight budget I dove into a totally unfamiliar ocean I never peered into before ("the former laptop dude that realize I don't move my computer around + I spend a lot of time with it")
*So worth noticing is that I have no more knowledge of what I learnt during the process of assembling the computer, but random software knowledge due to frequent usage starting 15 years ago.

Anyhow first I will explain my Hardware, later some issues that troubles me
and then some questions.

------------------------------
HARDWARE

• MB: Gigabyte UD3-990FXA
  • CPU: AMD-FX 8150 (8-core, 3,6Ghz)
  • GPU: Zotac Nvidia GTX 550 ti (1gb DDR5)
  • RAM: Corsair XMS3 1866MHz 8GB Vengeance CL9
  • PSU: Corsair 650W (With a freaking Octopus attached to it)
  • HD: Some old regular WD crap.
  • Case: And latest addition recently purchased CM Storm Stryker so current fans (that came along)=

2x120 at Front ->
1x140 at Rear -<
1x200 at Top -<
Case was bought due to old case had no dustfilters needed to saw/drill and so forth. I was first going to ask here but I felt in a hurry as the Components started to collect dust. I have some questions regarding that as well but I will write them further down.

----------------------------------------
MAIN PROBLEM / QUESTIONS: