• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Has this ever happened to anyone??

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

newbienerd

Member
Joined
May 26, 2004
Location
Lethbridge, AB
Has it ever happened to you that when you were running a partition to partition clone with GHOST that your CPU broke? It seems that is what happened to me. I was doing a partition to partition clone on the same disk (it was slow) and then the thing crapped out on me with a message saying something about my CPU. Now, it sometimes boots and doesn't it only posts, but when I try to boot from my FDD it craps out on me and freezes. Sometimes I can get it to boot but sometimes not. I swapped it with a P1 mmx at 200 mHz the old one was @ 166 Mhz. The only reason I was using the slower one is because it has a heatsink and fan glued to it ( i got it that way ).

I know my system is old, but I'm having some fun with it. If you could share your experiences and advice with me, I would greatly appreciate it. Thanks!

:bang head
 

Jiggahurtz

Disabled
Joined
Jun 15, 2004
Ahhh yup I've had cpu's suddenly die on me. Its a horrible feeling and nothing you do can fix it. Its also expensive to repair in newer computers.
 
OP
newbienerd

newbienerd

Member
Joined
May 26, 2004
Location
Lethbridge, AB
even with my other CPU I keep having trouble booting and getting my startup disk to work and be read??? errrrr!!!! looks like another fun puzzle for me!!! yay!!! Anyways... this all started with my System getting VxD errors? what is that?? what does it mean? hardware prob? software??? cpu? mobo?? At first I thought it might be my old CPU but the other was working great b4 errrr!!!! I'm so confused! thanks
 
OP
newbienerd

newbienerd

Member
Joined
May 26, 2004
Location
Lethbridge, AB
Here is my long and boring story... I hope this might explain things better...

I have a Socket 7 system with a P1 At 166 Mhz with 73 mb of EDO RAM... not much but it's fun to learn on. Anyways, the way I set it up was to have a 3Gig HD as C: and my 6Gig parted as D: and F: as slave to the 3Gig. then on the second IDE cable I have a 1.7 gig for swap and other misc files as E: drive and master to my CD-ROM as G: I have two floppies A: and B: (scheme was that A: would hold the startup disk and B: would hold Ghost. I'm too lazy to take out floppy disk and put another one in... LOL!!!)

phew..(wipes brow)

Anyways.. the way I designed it was to have the C: drive do partition to partition clones with Ghost as my software. This was intended to be my form of virus protection.. too much clutter for a small system.. the slave would be disconnected during normal runs and if something happened to my system (virus, system fudge, won't defrag properly... etc.) i could simply clone back from a previous save (formatting the infected disk first before even connecting my slave in). I know this isn't exactly virus proof, but at the time, I thought it would help. While I was tweaking one day and deleting files and cleaning up, I noticed that the disk maintenance wasn't defreging properly and so decided to clone back from a previous "save". Then I started getting messages about my MSI.vxd file or something like that when running system file checker. i don't know when exactly I started getting the VXD errors, but my system would not run properly and would reset itself with protection error messages. I did another reclone but had the same problem again.. is the VXD stored in the MBR? or boot sector?? I tried formatting the C: drive... but got error messages when trying to do a partition to partion transfer from D: to C: I tried running D: as single but couldn't boot. and I was already having problems with my boot sequence and had to restart a couple times before the startup disk would actually load properly. I even tried CMOS resets... to no avail... I then decided to format my D: and transfer the file from F: (most stable and virgin copy) then try to do a SYS with my startup disk after it was done and hopefully it will start up. While doing the clone, it was slow, since it was a partition to partition clone on the same disk... Suddenly I the thing crashed and got this Message about my CPU. not exactly sure what though.. can't remember... anyways... then I had more boot problems... and even to the point when the keyboard would not work or the sreen displayed garbles of characters while trying to run the startup disk. I decided to give my poor comp a rest and try the next day..

NExt day...

I tried popping in my pentium MMX CPU at 200 mhz ( other was 166). this time it worked.. I formatted the C: and D: and cloned from F: to C: after that it stil crapped out with VXD errors and so on... and resets!! errr.. Please note that even with the "new" CPU, I was still having problems with my boots (startup disks, bootable Flop disks....) but not as much as with the other CPU.

I have decided to give everything a rest and unplug my PSU and turn it on and let the jumper sit on my CMOS reset until I acquire more knowledge and wisdom from you guys...

i know that when I do a partition to partition copy that I do not bring over the Boot sector along with it... could this be the cuplrit?? would I be better off doing Disk to disk clones with Image Boot enabled??? just curious...

Well, anyways, this is my long and boring story, I know you guys must be thinking, "What a loser. He doesn't know what he is doing." No, I don't. I am learning... I am learning as I go along, which is why I am practicing on a crappy system... Anyways... I hope you guys can help me out...

Also, just to let you guys know that the system had 98LITE on it (demo version).

Thanks for even reading this....
 

anwar1337

Member
Joined
Apr 2, 2003
uhm.. seems like your MBR(Master Boot Record) Is messed up.. Since you are freezing after boot.. that means new harddrive for u! :\
 
OP
newbienerd

newbienerd

Member
Joined
May 26, 2004
Location
Lethbridge, AB
Isn't there any way to reset it? or clean it up?? my MBR i mean?? i don't freeze on windows load, but i do freeze when booting from my startup disk (fd)... or a bootable
floppy... that doesn't have anything to do with my MBR does it???? I never had a problem with my boots from the HDD, it was just a problem with my VXD... or somewhere in that area...