• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HDMI Cables: Any difference between the cheap vs the expensive cables?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

HeatM1ser2k4

For years I was always told that there is no real difference between cheapr or expensive HDMI cables. Since then, HDMI 2.0+ have been introduced. Is it still true that the cheap cables are as good as the expensive cables?

Also, is the difference between an HDMI 1.4 cable and and HDMI 2.0+ cable noticeable?

It used to not make any difference but with higher resolution monitors now it does. It probably depends on what resolution your monitor is capable of. What is the make and model of your display? I'm no AV expert so I hope others chime in.

shouldnt matter but i could be wrong, no AV expert here. do you notice a difference in cheap vs costly Cat5e? HDMI is nothing more then a AV Ethernet cable, all the video and audio is digital. i have bought cheap HDMI cables from fry's like a 6 pack for 14.99 never noticed vs the $40 cable my parents got talked into a back in the day when it first came out. i would assume it would be the same case now, only time is maybe how long the run is but even then they should be using thicker wire for that since resistance over distance effects the signal. just my 2 cents.

Evilsizer, I hear you but not sure that analogy applies in this case:

"Category 1-certified cables, which have been tested at 74.25 MHz (which would include resolutions such as 720p60 and 1080i60), and Category 2-certified cables, which have been tested at 340 MHz (which would include resolutions such as 1080p60 and 4K30).[6](§4.2.6)[63][72] Category 1 HDMI cables are marketed as "Standard" and Category 2 HDMI cables as "High Speed". https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/HDMI