• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

headphones that don't rot

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

caddi daddi

Godzilla to ant hills
I'm trying to find A nice pair of headphones that the ear muffs won't rot and become flaky after A couple of months.
It seems that under $100 that is just not going to be found.
I prefer wired and would like to stay ...let's say between $150-$200.
I'm using A set of my dave clarks right now, sound quality is not at the top of my list, I'm older and understand my ears are not the best anyway. I do need A mic. for gaming.
Any ideas?

Have you searched for replacement ear pads for your current set of headphones? I found they were easy to swap with my Bose headphones & not very expensive.

I have an Audio Technica MX50 set that I've been using for about 10 years. No problems with them of any kind, but I do treat them gently. I'm also hearing impaired and find that the larger drivers help with sound quality. I've had several makes/models of headphones over the years and these are the best that I've owned.

at $100 the replacement parts are just not worth paying for vs just another set.
I have the dave clark stuff, what I like from them are A little bulky and over the top for K-pop and acid-synth over the computer, great in the plane, not so much around the house.
there was A brand I had once, very high end, the name started with an "s'".

Which do you have? Most expensive pads were like $55, most like $10-30.

Seinheiser?

I never knew thise headphones were for anything but flying.. lol.

I have some Audio Technica ATH- PRO5X and ATH-A500X...

I bought some replacment ear pads on the PRO5X because i dont like the vynil/plastic ones that most come with and the replacments were cheap. the A500X i couldnt do that with but they are still holding up just fine.