• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Heeeeelp! Bios settings MSI K7T Pro after O/C TBird 1 ghz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

App

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
Holland (Europe)
Pencil tricked my L1 (Frequency) and L7 (Voltage) bridges on my TBird 1 Ghz.
What to do with the BIOS settings of my MSI K7T Pro????

Auto Detect DIMM/PCI Clk : enabled/disabled: ???????

Spread Spectrum Modulated: ?????

CPU Host/PCI Clock: Default??????

Help!
 
OP
A

App

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
Holland (Europe)
Anybody out there who can give me some explanation about this BIOS stuff??????I'm still a kind of Newbee in O/C!!
 

Rob Cork

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Woodcote, UK
I only know about the Kt7 and A7V, so i'm just guessing at what your settings should be based on those two - but i think it should be a pretty good guess. Spread spectrum modulated should be enabled (i think it reduces emi or something). CPU/Host PCI clk sounds like the fsb, so you could set this to user define (might be called something different) and try a fsb overclock. This ought to work regardless of the bridge settings on the chip, so it's fairly safe, and you should be able to get to about 105-110 fsb. I'm not certain what the auto detect DIMM/PCI clk means, so you could try both settings and see what happens (if anything). Disabled may allow you to set the dimm frequency relative to the PCI frequency - try it. Try reading the motherboard manual, if you have one. I don't know how good it is compared to the Asus and abit ones, but it might have a section somewhere explaining what all the bios settings mean and do if you're lucky.

If you've just connected all the L1 bridges to unlock the multiplier, you'll need to set the multiplier to tell the motherboard what to use - check for a bios setting mentioning cpu clock or mutliplier, it should have values like 8x, 9x, 10x etc. If there isn't a bios setting you might have to use dipswitches or jumpers on the mobo - again, check the manual. It can really help.
 
OP
A

App

Member
Joined
Jan 1, 2001
Location
Holland (Europe)
Thanks for your help on this. I have read the mobo manual thouroughly, but MSI does not give a lot of good explanation about those settings. Anyhow I cannot find the multiplier settings in my BIOS. Has anybody else with a MSI K7T Pro a hint how the multiplier can be changed?

John
 

Rob Cork

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Woodcote, UK
A bit of bad news - looking at the 'Which MSI?' article in the mainboard reviews section of the oc.com home page, the KT7-PRO doesn't allow multiplier changes. If yours is the KT7-PRO, unlucky but you'll have to set the L3, L4 and L6 bridges as per Tom's Hardware article: http://www.tomshardware.com/cpu/00q3/000711/amd-04.html . It's a lot of hassle but this may be the only way you can change the multiplier.
 

Byt3z

Registered
Joined
Dec 29, 2000
what is the best way to cut of some bridges ?

For connecting them i use a pencil, but i have no idea how to disconnect them :p
 

Rob Cork

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 17, 2000
Location
Woodcote, UK
Byt3z (Jan 08, 2001 10:30 a.m.):
what is the best way to cut of some bridges ?

For connecting them i use a pencil, but i have no idea how to disconnect them :p

I've heard an 'exacto knife' is the best tool for the job - I don't know what one of those is (I'm guessing an ordinary craft knife) but it might mean something to you. Maybe you can only get it in America :p
 

Maddman

R.I.P beloved friend to all
Joined
Dec 18, 2000
Location
Orlando, Florida
An Exacto knife is a small blade with a metal handle that looks and feels like a pencil. The blade is sharp enough to shave with.