• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help/Advice on a watercooling build

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

distilld

What parts did you get? Maybe post a thread up... anything you need to get we can help with?

So far I've ordered:

For the case, I found an aftermarket fan tray for the top of the case that's capable of mounting two additional 480mm radiators (the top rack it came with only supports 1x 420mm radiator). I'm not sure what spacing will be like once the front two rads are installed, though. I figure that if two 480mm don't fit then 2x 360mms will.

I bought a bunch of soft-tube fittings and PrimoFlex 3/8"x5/8" clear tubing to start with. I really want to use hard tubing, though, but I've never worked with it before. The current plan is to rough-in a loop with the flexible tubing to help figure out where everything will go, and then buy the necessary fittings for hard tubing. I have an idea of what I want the runs to look like, but I don't have a diagram or anything drawn up. The case just arrived yesterday and I haven't yet had time to validate my plan.

I'm sure I'll have questions once the stuff gets here, and I'm definitely open to any feedback or suggestions in the meantime! I've built a custom loop once before, but that was nearly 15 years ago and it was very basic, so I wouldn't say that I know what I'm doing. :)

I would definitely start a thread of your own for this if you're looking for feedback. I can split your post above off and start one if you like... LMK.

Looks good so far... the only thing I question offhand is why so much radiator? Did I read that right, 2x 4x140mm rads and 1x 4x120mm? Personally, I would have left the AIO on the card and just built for the CPU, but we're past that point :p. If it was me...........