• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

HELP: Computer won't connect- freezes up

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Viper69

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
The system in question is in my sig file below.

About a week or so ago I noticed when I started up my computer it would not connect to ISP router via the DIRECT cable I use (I don't have wireless for this rig). There's no problem connecting my Win10 laptop to the ISP router when my rig has issues.
What I see and notice when this happens are the following- I truly have no idea where to begin nor what to look for.


NOTE: The problem ONLY happens when I start my computer, never when it's already on.

1. The plug/computer icon on the bottom right of the sys tray has the Win7 blue circle overlaid on top of it

2. At this point the entire computer freezes. I can move the cursor via mouse, but clicking on icons does nothing.

3. I turn off the computer, wait a few seconds and one of 3 happens when I turn the computer back on:
A) The computer connects to the internet as it normally does and I'm free to do whatever I want
B) The computer gets "frozen" again exactly as described in number 1. (This is the most common result when the system freezes upon startup)
C) The computer starts, but then turns itself off, restarts, and does this "cycling" for maybe 2 or 3 times before reaching the desktop.

In all the above cases I am confronted with the screen asking the user to select how to start the system, Safe Mode, Safe Mode+ Networking, OR start Win Normally.


I'm truly stumped on this one. I've never had a problem with my rig, let alone something involved with network connections.

ANY IDEAS on this one? Thanks in advance.
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Maybe the nic is going bad.. can you disable it and throw a USB wifi adapter in?

Trying updating/reinstalling nic drivers?



One thread per subject is best. Deleted the other. :)
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
It could be one of any number of things.

Bad driver.

Failing hard drive.

Failing PSU

Corrupted OS files

If overclocked, incorrect bios settings.

Malware


The first thing I would try would be to check the SMART drive info with CrystalDiskInfo for drive failure related information.

Next thing I would do would be to run sfc /scannow from an elevated command prompt, i.e. with elevated privileges.

After that I would run chkdsk /f /r from an elevated command prompt.

After that I would do run a cocktail of anti malware scans including those that can check for rootkit viruses and can do a boot time scan outside of Windows. The Avira free edtion does an excellent job of boot time scanning. Malwarebytes, ADWcleaner and Hitmann Pro are other excellent anti malware products that are free or free for trial periods.

If these measures didn't help, I would do a clean install of Windows.
 
OP
V

Viper69

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
I finally have the time to work on this. I hadn't used the computer in a week. I started it today and it wouldn't connect to the internet. The icon on the lower right of the sys tray just had the Windows blue circle as if it was "thinking", just like it always shows when this happens.

Also, when this happens, it locks up my whole system as best as I can tell. I can move my mouse cursor, no problem. But cannot use the user to open a file of any type.

I turned off the computer, turned back on in Windows Safe Mode with Networking. No issues at all.

What does this tell me so far? I'm not very familiar w/networking.

I will go and check the information you provided me earlier.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
If it works in Safe mode that means the LAN driver is buggy or corrupted. Go into Device Manager and not just disable but tell it to remove the driver. Reboot. See if that helps. If not, look on the motherboard manufacturer for the latest driver. Likely a casualty of some recent Windows update. in conflict with another device driver. Uninstall the LAN device driver in Device Manager and reboot. If it still doesn't work, go to the motherboard manufacturer's website and install the latest LAN driver. This sounds like a casualty of recent Windows updates.


And, oh, if you have Killer LAN drivers installed, remove them. They are notoriously problematic and most people don't even use them anyway. They are just a supplemental technology that prioritizes data transfer. Used by some gamers but most folks never benefit from it.
 
Last edited:
OP
V

Viper69

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
If it works in Safe mode that means the LAN driver is buggy or corrupted. Go into Device Manager and not just disable but tell it to remove the driver. Reboot. See if that helps. If not, look on the motherboard manufacturer for the latest driver. Likely a casualty of some recent Windows update. in conflict with another device driver. Uninstall the LAN device driver in Device Manager and reboot. If it still doesn't work, go to the motherboard manufacturer's website and install the latest LAN driver. This sounds like a casualty of recent Windows updates.


And, oh, if you have Killer LAN drivers installed, remove them. They are notoriously problematic and most people don't even use them anyway. They are just a supplemental technology that prioritizes data transfer. Used by some gamers but most folks never benefit from it.

It's my rig below. It has Win 7 SP 1, hasn't been updated in eons since MS made it impossible to update. Though I have a work around via another board member for THAT. I haven't done it just yet. SO it's not an update from MS.

I have a "dumb" question then. Doesn't uninstalling the LAN device driver disable my ability to connect to the net? Also, I'm not using WiFi to connect, I have a direct cable connection to my ISPs router.

In Device Manager, no exclamation points/yellow triangles just an FYI.

Under Network Adapters are the following

1. Intel (R) 82579V Gigabit Network Connection
2. Kaspersky Security Data Escort Adaptor


The KAV has been there for eons, I'd be surprised if that was the issue.

This rig is not OC'd either.
 
OP
V

Viper69

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
It could be one of any number of things.

Bad driver.

Failing hard drive.

Failing PSU

Corrupted OS files

If overclocked, incorrect bios settings.

Malware


The first thing I would try would be to check the SMART drive info with CrystalDiskInfo for drive failure related information.

Next thing I would do would be to run sfc /scannow from an elevated command prompt, i.e. with elevated privileges.

After that I would run chkdsk /f /r from an elevated command prompt.

After that I would do run a cocktail of anti malware scans including those that can check for rootkit viruses and can do a boot time scan outside of Windows. The Avira free edtion does an excellent job of boot time scanning. Malwarebytes, ADWcleaner and Hitmann Pro are other excellent anti malware products that are free or free for trial periods.

If these measures didn't help, I would do a clean install of Windows.


I looked into the DOS side of things no violations, all is fine. Same with the drive check via Crystal.

Also ran KAV and Malwarebytes- no issues there either.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
I would reinstall Windows. Fresh clean install.

Safe mode allows you to boot with no device drivers except those that you tell it to use. Has to be a device driver problem. Perhaps another Windows driver file has become corrupt and is creating a conflict. Have you tried disabling the onboard LAN and adding in LAN card? A device driver conflict will not necessarily generate a flag in device manager. It depends at which stage of loading the driver the problem occurs. I've had lots of healthy looking lines in Device Manager when something wasn't working.

Download and install WSUS Offline to fix the broken Windows 7 update problem once you get internet. You could also temporarily use a USB Wifi adatper.

I would also check the SMART disk info with CrystalDiskInfo. If you are getting corrupt system files the cause can be a failing disk.
 
Last edited: