• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

[HELP] dual PSU's - how much Watt's each for this set up?

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Hey all!


yes me again!

i am buying the coolermaster stacker which ahd room for dual PSU's so i figure why not get duals - since they include the lovely adapter anyways to connect the 2 together so they start together.


Now, here will be the specs of this system

  • Asus P4P800 (possibly an AI7 very soon)
  • P4 2.6C - plan to O/C and aim for 3Ghz
  • X800PRO with a possible vcore mod
  • 2 x 250g Serial ATA HD's
  • 1 DVD-ROM
  • 1 CDROM or CDRW

Now the case for fans has / will have
  • 2 x 120mm
  • min. possibly 4 80mm fans
  • @ least 1 cold cathode (black light most likely)



Based on those hardware components what would be safe to get 2 of?


2 x 350W
2 x 400 W ?

I will likely designate 1 PSU to the MOBO / VID card and the other PSU would run the fans / lights and harddrives.



thoughts?

Also - i plan to get a attarctive PSU one that can be shown off, not some borrinw metal looking poo poo :D


Yes, i said poo poo
:D
 

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Hmm, that AeroCool AeroPower II is nice and has stronger rails, but in all honesty I've never heard of that company b4 so i can't vouch for that product.

As for the Fortron, that i can definately stand by on. I vote Fortrons. 18a on the 12v rail, but since it's a Fortron it should have adjustable pots inside ;) .
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
^^ what Wattage should i go for if i get 2? could i settle for 2 x 350 or you think a 350w would power a 2.6 + an x800 PRO
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
okay i think i am going to get 2 of these


http://www.newegg.com/app/ViewProductDesc.asp?description=17-104-963&depa=0


Fortron Source 400W Power Supply With 12CM Blue LED, Model "FSP400-60PNU-R" -RETAIL $69 a pop (frozencpu has em for $79)
2 of these will look sweet in da case!

17-104-963-12.jpg
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
Nebulous said:
Hmmm, I would get 2-400 watters to be on the safe side. 350w is a bare minimum for a rig with 1hdd, 1rom. You got double that plus that X800 is gonna need power.

Yeah, go with 2x400w Fortrons :thup:

Anyways, why u wanna get 2-400w? Get a Pc&c 510w. That sucka has enough voltage to power a small city.

i figure get 2 - cause i got the room for em....LOL :D and it will look like one hell of a power house :D - i dont think there is any reall "good" reason to get them besides i got room for em :D
 

Nebulous

Señor Senior, Senior
Joined
Oct 11, 2002
Location
The Empire State
Mr.Guvernment said:
i figure get 2 - cause i got the room for em....LOL :D and it will look like one hell of a power house :D - i dont think there is any reall "good" reason to get them besides i got room for em :D


LOL, otay. I see where you're getting at :beer: Post pics of the beast when it's done! :attn:
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
^^^ going to start a journal - take pics of the building process - i think we need another one of those threads, not enough :p
 

JKeefe

Member
Joined
May 25, 2003
Location
Basking Ridge, NJ
Woah, wait a minute.

That proposed system does not need dual PSUs.

Here's what I'm running off of one Antec SmartPower 350W. It's not even a TruePower.

P4 2.4C @ 3000 MHz running [email protected] 24/7, 1.55 Vcore
Asus P4P800 @ 250 MHz FSB
1024MB of PC3200 RAM
128MB Radeon 9800 Pro
Audigy 2 ZS PCI
2 36GB Raptors in SATA RAID 0
1 20 GB Maxtor 7200 RPM HDD
2 optical drives
1 floppy drive
1 Sunbeam rheobus dialing down 4 fans
The PSU powers 5 other fans, some @ 12V, some at 7V

My 3.3V rail never drops below 3.23V. My 5V rail never drops below 4.95V. My 12V rail never drops below 11.92V.
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
I know it does not "need" dual PSU'[ :D


but think of how sweet it will look with dual PSU's and how sweeettttttttttttt it will sound when i descrive my system to n00bs :0


"yeah man - i got dual 400w PSU's and a coolermaster stackjer case with blah blah blah blah" ")



i am very aware i dont need dual PSU's - i could easily get some 500W PSU that would power my whole system fine - but lest say - i am going all out in a sense so to say with this system - as i am SURE with in a year - maybe less - i will end up selling this system to someone here in Costa Rica - and even in ayear - you wont be able to buy this type of syst5em here :D


SOOO in a "marketing sense" what sounds better


"yeah - it has a 500w PSU" or " it has dual 400w Fortraon PSU's with blue LED's"

:D
 

JKeefe

Member
Joined
May 25, 2003
Location
Basking Ridge, NJ
Style over substance... perhaps dual 80mm rear exhaust would actually do some good, as opposed to a needless second PSU (although you're right - it does sound cool).

One thing I will not disagree on, though; that is one hell of a sweet case.
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
^^^ hehe - yeah i was thinkgn dual80mm - but the way this case is desgisn with so much open area, not sure it would be needed - i will have to see - as the second PSU on the bottom wiill have the large 120mm fan facing up - as to suck air down and out - really the way this will work out - i will not need the 120mm fan in the back by the cpu - or may not - will do some testing

as i will ahve 1 PSU at the top and one at bottom - both sucking air out :D
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
^^^^ lol 0 you want now too :)

it is costing me $138 US for dual 400w Fortron PSU's - which is not bad - split it even have the mobo / CPU / vid card on one PSU and the HD's and fans on the other :d


and if one PSU dies - you already have a back up in place :D

Once you get your case - going to have to post pics with what ever you do wit it :D
 

JKeefe

Member
Joined
May 25, 2003
Location
Basking Ridge, NJ
The mobo, CPU, and vid card are a hell of a lot more load than you hard drives and fans.

I would put the mobo/CPU (and RAM, that means) on one PSU, and the vid card, HDDs, and fans on the other.

HDDs and fans are constant load items - they are always on, and always draw the same amount of current. You motherboard current draw may vary quite a bit depending on processor load.
 

Foxie3a

Normal Member
Joined
Sep 7, 2003
If I were you I'd just get one high quality power supply. Having multiple ones adds to the confusion.

I've run a 350 with a 225 before. The 225 did the CDroms and fans while the other one did the rest. The 225 also had a 24V rail(thanks goes to myself :D).

Maybe its because I had to push a button to start each one of them, but it was just a hassle. If I were you I'd just go with the simpler, and higher quality one. Good luck.
 
OP
Mr.Guvernment

Mr.Guvernment

Member
Joined
Feb 26, 2003
^^^ the only reason i am getting duals, well 2 reason

1. the case has room :)
2. - Cooler master is providing with the case an adapter that lets them turn on together

Okay 3 reasons :)

it will look kick arse! ;D


Good thoughts Jkeefe - i will have to mess witth the configurations and see what give the best results - either which way i dont think i will have a shortage of power :)