• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help for OCing AMD Athlon II X4 640

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

KaoBang

Hi all,

I'm new to this forum and to overcloaking in general. I've made some research on internet to get some information for OCing my AMD Athlon II x4 640 but as i'm new in OCing, i'm a bit scared about doing wrong things that could hurt my processor.

I saw that this processor could be safe OCed up to 3.4 GHz resulting in a stable system. Is it true ? And what parameters in BIOS have to be changed ?

Here is my Config :

Windows 7 ‎(X64)‎
Processor : AMD Athlon II X4 640 3.0GHz
Motherboard : Gigabyte Technology Co., Ltd. GA-MA770T-UD3
Memory : 3x2Go G.Skill PC3-12800
Graphic Card : Saphire Radeon HD 5770
Hard Drive : SAMSUNG HD103SJ de 931.51 Go SATA II
Supply : 650W

Thanks in advance :)

Welcome!

Those CPUs generally overclock to 3.5-3.6 range if you have good cooling and other components of reasonable quality. But you do not mention what you are using to cool the CPU with when you give your system info. This is key component when overclocking. Are you using the stock cooler that came with the CPU or an aftermarket cooler? If the latter, what make and model? You mention that you have a 650W PSU but again, no make and model are given. A power supply that gives clean, steady power is also important. And you do not mention what make and model case you have. A case with good ventilation is important to keeping temps down when overclocking. Please supply these detail in your system info.

It looks like you are operating in single channel mode with your memory because you are using 3 sticks of ram instead of two or four sticks. This causes a performance penalty.