• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me choose a Linux Distro

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

ronin1967

Was thinking of getting into Linux. Want to make a dual boot system with Linux and Windows XP. Need help selecting Linux. Which one should I use(Mandrake, RedHat, etc...)

Well it mostly depends on your level of experience with linux. If you are just starting out, I would suggest Mandrake, Red Hat, or Suse. If you want a more advanced distro, try Debian or Slackware. You ought to read about the differences between the distros and pick one that suits what your trying to do.

Its hard for me to pick a distro for you, mainly because I'm not you :)

I am new to Linux. I did own a copy of RedHat that I installed on an old PII years ago, but I though about tyring one of the new ones. I like the look of Mandrake, was thinking about it or RedHat, not familiar with SUSE, want something mainstream and popular, am sure I am going to be hitting the forums a lot for help...

Linux

I've found that making the switch to Linux was not as bad as I had feared. It just takes alot of reading and practicing...

I'm running Redhat 8.0 on a dual boot win2k box. Seems pretty cool. Got it to read NTFS, setting up tightvnc and apt-get tomorrow.

At work, I'm helping my boss design a custom gentoo install package. Now that's a distro! I figure if I can learn gentoo alright, then no Linux is too hard!

Mandrake- I always hear people complain about mandrake. To many wizards to do stuff for you...

Suse- Always hear praise. I understand Suse is oriented more towards multimedia than most distro's... but you have to buy it, or do an fto install.... no downloading of ISO's.