• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help me get my 3d performance higher..i'm new at this

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Jeff Bolton

ok, you guys can see my new computer in my siggy. before upgrading to this wonderful machine, i had an SDR athlon system with a 32mb matrox g450...on average i'd get about 1000 3dmarks from 3dmark2001 (not SE). that thing was horrible for 3d gaming so there was never much tweaking to do. now that i'm on this new system i'm introduced into the world of high clock speeds, high framerates, and (relatively) high 3dmark score.

p4 2.26 running at 160fsb= 2.72ghz
512mb corsair xms running 160:214 (3:4), cas2
stock leadtek gf4 ti4400

so here's the deal. before i even spent the 3 hours downloading 3dmark2001se on 56k i upgraded the leadtek drivers to the nvidia 40.71's (i think those are it, whatever the latest ones on the website are). first time i ran the benchmark i got about 9500 points, and i forgot that i had my default AA set to 4xAnsio or whatever it is. not 4xAA but whatever the other 4x option is. i turned it off totally and ran the benchmark again to get a better 11500 or so. well either way, i've seen much slower systems getting a much higher score, i'm thinking i should at least be getting 13000 here without any AA. is there some settings that i don't know about? i'm not a 3dmark junkie but benchmark numbers are nice to throw around when bragging (hey, i'm getting 90fps in jk2 with full detail and 60fps in morrowind with full detail an 4xAnsio so i don't REALLY care, but you know...:D). so, you 3dmark wizards...aside from overclocking the card itself (which may be coming soon) what options can be tinkered with to get a better score?

tia

jeff

freddiedaman