• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me overclock my Fx 6100

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
hi what is the best settings for AMD Fx 6100 oc to 4.5Ghz
plz mention NB and HT and Vcore thx ^_^


MOBO > Gigabyte 970a-d3p(rev. 2.x) bios version FD
CPU & Cooler > AMD FX-6100 &Cooler Master HYPER H410R
MEMORY > 2x4GB kingstone one 1666 mhz other 1333mhz
POWER SUPPLY > Cooler master 500W
VIDEO CARD > MSI 2GB OC R7 260x
HDDs/Optical drives > x1 SDD 256GB and 1TB HDD
 
Last edited:

Blaylock

"That Backfired" Senior Member
Joined
Jun 5, 2013
Location
Go Blue!
I would not recommend overclocking on that motherboard, nor with that air cooler. Unless you're looking to destroy something.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Ditto. Overclocking involves increasing voltage to the CPU which will drive up temps on both the CPU and the motherboard power handling components. Your CPU cooler is inadequate for the task and so are your motherboard power handling components (VRM or Voltage Regulation Module).

What apps are you trying to run that you feel the need for more processing power?

What do you mean in your component list for the video card by "Make/Model/How Many"? Do you not know the answer or are you saying you use various ones?
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
If you feel saucy and get VRM fans etc...though like others, I don't recommend it on this board either.....

There is a guide in my signature (the bulldozer one) that should get you started.
 
OP
E

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
i just wanna make it more flexible in games like my gpu is not using 100% of it's power which lagging some games i wanna know if there any thing would help about CPU
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
If you are gaming at 1080p, overclocking certainly would help. That chip is old and slow.

As was said, the problem comes with the motherboard and its power delivery not being good for overclocking. That said, you 'only' have a FX6100 CPU so you may be able to get away with some overclocking for sure. That heatsink you have isn' helping either.

Read the guide I mentioned....then read it again..... and give it a go... we're here to answer any questions.

What GPU do you have again? The first post didn't list it.
 
OP
E

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
games not even working 60 FPS on 800x600 low xD
now i mentioned the GPU
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
Ok, well, the GPU puts things into perspective a bit... it sucks too. :(

So you have a couple of problems...

1. Your GPU isn' even a 60 fps 1080p card. 2GB VRAM is not enough for many titles at 1080p.
2. Turning your resolution down puts more of a load on an already slow CPU... makes sense.

You need to save your money for a significant upgrade, friend.

In the meantime, as I said already, try overclocking and see if that helps, but, you really need a new system at this time. Any worthwhile CPU upgrades can be put towards a new rig, any new GPU now is a waste of cash due to the CPU (though you will see improvements).
 
OP
E

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
now if 4.5 ghz not good .... is 3.9GHZ good ??

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

i did try my GPU on i5-3470 it was perfect working and most games were like medium and 60 FPS 1080p

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

at least i want the same effect as i5

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

at least being using 100% of GPU instead of 100% CPU 0% GPU
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
You can't get blood from a stone.

The i5 3470 is much faster clock for clock than your FX.

Again, try overclocking and see... read the guides, give it a go...... report back with questions after you've read the guide a couple of times and give it a try. Every CPU is different, so cookie cutter settings may work, but likely are not optimal. Give it a go, bud.
 
OP
E

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
i don't know what is the best option for 3.9Ghz as i change Nb and HT to 2400 windows fails just tell me what Voltage i need for cpu and nb for good stable over clock

- - - Auto-Merged Double Post - - -

i'm just new at overclock staff so i need some help to understand the guide u mentioned
 

EarthDog

Gulper Nozzle Co-Owner
Joined
Dec 15, 2008
Location
Buckeyes!
I don't know either. As I just said, each CPU is different.

AMD isn't my forte... if someone else wants to hand you settings that may work for your CPU, they can and will certainly do so. Otherwise, learn how to overclock like we all did... reading guides, trial and error, and coming back to OCF for help. :)
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
First, change one component frequency at a time. Don't chance the HT and NB frequency until you have achieved a stable core overclock. Find out what the limits of the cores are before changing anything about the HT and NB. If you change more than one parameter at a time you will have no idea which one caused instability.

Start by adding .025 to the stock vcore and increase the stock CPU multiplier frequency by 1x over stock. Stress test with OCCT for 20 minutes. Watch the CPU temp during the stress test. OCCT has a built in temp reporting tool. You don't want you CPU temp to exceed 55-60c during the stress test.

If you pass the stress test, increase the CPU frequency by 2x over stock multiplier. Stress test again. If you pass, increase the CPU frequency multiplier by another 1x and stress test again.

If you fail a stress test, add .01 to the CPU core voltage and retest. Always monitor temps when you stress test after a voltage change.

Work on that method and report back when you seem to have achieved a max overclock which would be when you can't get the CPU stable at a higher frequency or you exceed the 55-60c temp range.

We cannot give you specific voltages to plugin. Every CPU, even of the same make and model, will be different and when you combine that with different motherboards and different memory products you add in more variables. It's all a matter of trial and error; experimentation.
 
Last edited:

Mr.Scott

Beamed Me Up!
Joined
Jun 9, 2013
Should be able to do 4 gig @ 1.45v fairly easily if you can keep it cool. Cool means under 60c @ 100% load. Temp will be your limiting factor for your OC.
Board sucks, but it's only a 6100 and not an 8 core. You can clock, as long as it's within reason. You'll never see 4.5 on that combo.
Mismatched ram is gonna kill you too.

Best guess is you'll wind up 3.9 all cores when said and done.
 
OP
E

epoo007

New Member
Joined
Jun 1, 2020
fx6100

hi i did as u said in bulldozer overclocking now i have 4.0ghz at 1.350v i stressed it at 12 thread for 30 min max temp was 59 but i didn't try changing the bus speed i kept it 200mhz ahould i change it?
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Keep it simple. Don't change the bus frequency. You need to stress test for longer than 30 minutes to confirm stability. A couple of hours should do for general computing.