• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help me pick my next Distro!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Arkaine23

Captain Random Senior Evil
Ok, I'm still a newb but I'm no longer intimidated by the usual problems one has when unfamiliar with Linux.

At home I have a dual boot 2k/Redhat 8 box. I'm about to do an ftp install for a friend to switch him over from Mandrake 8.2 to Suse 8.1. At work, we're in the middle of upgrading the whole network to Gentoo 1.4. We also have Sun's with Solaris 8, and some Free & OpenBSD servers.

So I'm trying to cover the whole spectrum here. :D

Anyway, I'm putting together my 3rd home box- another XP 1600+. Not gonna be dual-booting windows on this one. What should I try? Debian? Slackware? I'm actually thinking I should try a middle-of-the-road distro, rather than the super-guru distros. But definitely not any of the mainstream- MDK, RH, Suse types. Any recommendations? I know I'm not making it easy... Whatever I use, I'll probably install apt-get, since I use portage at work and rpm on my RH box.

OP
Arkaine23

Arkaine23

Distro

Yeah, I was thinking debian or maybe LFS... but I forgot to mention time constraints. I generally have only 4 to 6 hours total in any given week where I'm at home and not asleep. So anything that has a long involved install process could take me a month or more to get going. Maybe I could take the box to work and put gentoo on it, but our custom gentoo install package for XP's in not finished yet since we hit a big bug yesterday. Obviously I need to get this rig up ASAP so it can fold! Maybe I'll settle for a pre-compiled distro and do something advanced in the future when I'm not working 2 jobs... maybe Suse will have to do for now...

moorcito