• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

help me!!!!

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

uprisingchuns

okay this is what i have

msi kt3 ultra2 mb
amd xp2100
samsung 256mb ddr 2700 pc333 ram
2 intake fans 1 exhaust fan, new heatsink on the way
300watt power supply i think
80gig ibm 72000rpm hardrive

this is the problem... i'm a newb to overclocking and i need like exact details on how to overclock..... i know how to change the fsb and thats about it... if u ask me to change the voltage i get lost.. and to run in hl?? something im lost too..... the highest i got me fsb too was 138 and anything after that i get some error message... so some kind hearted person help me out. plz...........

Tiger

What you are asking for is impossible to give in a short description. Have a look at the guides off the front page and there is also info under the AMD processors section.
Basically your enemy is heat. If you can keep your system cool then you are half way there. The vcore voltage is increased when the system starts to become unstable. There are two approaches increase the voltage when the system becomes unstable or go straight to max and carry on increasing the fsb until it becomes unstable. The latter requires really good cooling.
Be aware that if you get too high the system may crash and you must know how to reset the bios and get out of trouble and secondly your data could be totally corrupted and therefore make sure you have recent backups at all times.

none1

1) Hmmm. The 2100 default is FSB = 133 *13 = 1730. Upping your FSB to 138 should put you at only 1794, and that should not be hard for your chip.

In other words, I am surprised you can't easily get to FSB = 140. Can you tell us what error you get? Also post your video card.