• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help! My windows xp says my radeon 9800 pro is a 9600 xt

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

Tb0y

Registered
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Hi, my Windows XP Sp1 recognizes my Radeon 9800 pro 128 mb as a 9600 XT. I bought mine brand new retail at CC. I'm using Catalyst 4.7. My stats are:

amd xp 2600+
ecs mobo nf2400-u
radeon 9800 pro 128mb
512 mb ddr pc 2700
samsung 17" monitor

Is it because my bios are outdated or somthing? thanx for ur patients
 

JCLW

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Welcome to the forums!

Don't complain - An XT is better then a Pro.

Maybe you have an XT disguised as a Pro. Do you have a temperature gauge in the drivers?
 
OP
T

Tb0y

Registered
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
thanx for the welcome :cool:.
a 9600 xt is better than a 9800 pro?? n yes i do have a temp gauge in my driver
 
Last edited:

JCLW

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Yes an 9600XT is clocked at 500/300, and a 9600Pro is clocked at 400/300.

If you have a temp gauge it means you have the newer RV360 core and it really is an XT :)

edit: whoops... just noticed you said 9600XT instead of an 9800pro. No, the 9800pro is (much) better. Where did you get it from? Must have been a mistake.
 

stan03

Member
Joined
Mar 30, 2003
um its being seen as a 9600 XT which is most definitely not as good as a 9800 Pro....
 

JCLW

Member
Joined
Apr 1, 2002
Yes, just noticed that and was updating my other post...

That's a pain then.
 

Dc5e

Member
Joined
Mar 10, 2003
Location
MA
hm, are you sure its a 9800? maybe try getting ati tool and checking the pipes?
 
OP
T

Tb0y

Registered
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
i bought my 9800 pro card at Circuit City brand new and i still have the box. On ati tools the stats are:
device id: 4152
chip type: rv360
memory size: 128 mb
memory bus width: 128 bit
active pipelines: 4
default gpu clock: 500 mhz
default mem clock: 300 mhz
 

Aslan

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Location
North Vancouver, Canada
Well, does your card have the 4 pronged Molex connector? The 9600XT does not.

Furthermore, does your card resemble::

This link: http://www.a1-electronics.net/Res_Graphics_Cards/ATI/2003/ATI_9800Pro_card_Mar03.jpg (being a 9800 Pro) (sorry, link needs to be copied and pasted)

or

This (being a 9600XT)

Edit: After looking at your last post, your card definitely is a 9600XT and there may be been a mistake in the packaging (or someone "swapped it" :rolleyes: ). Go back and exchange it for a 9800 Pro.
 
Last edited:
OP
T

Tb0y

Registered
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
argh dam ati. it was brand new and i dont think circuit city doesnt accept returns on open box items so no1 couldve swapped it.
 

Aslan

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Location
North Vancouver, Canada
Tb0y said:
argh dam ati. it was brand new and i dont think circuit city doesnt accept returns on open box items so no1 couldve swapped it.

You might as well give it a shot and try to exchange it. Just complain constantly and hopefully you'll be able to exchange it for the 9800 Pro.

Good Luck.
 

dreIU

Member
Joined
Nov 11, 2003
Location
Bloomington, IN
HousERaT said:
that looks like the 9800 atlantis.... the 128bit version. ouch!!!

From the looks of their website, they only sell the BBA 9800pro 256bit. I also remember this being the only 9800pro sold there since my last visit. If I were you, I would go in there furious and make sure you get what you paid for. If not, take it to ATi themselves.
 

Aslan

Member
Joined
Dec 10, 2002
Location
North Vancouver, Canada
HousERaT said:
that looks like the 9800 atlantis.... the 128bit version. ouch!!!

Nope, its a 9600XT.

Tb0y said:
i bought my 9800 pro card at Circuit City brand new and i still have the box. On ati tools the stats are:
device id: 4152
chip type: rv360
memory size: 128 mb
memory bus width: 128 bit
active pipelines: 4
default gpu clock: 500 mhz
default mem clock: 300 mhz

The Chip type of the 128bit version of the 9800 Atlantis would be R350, or it might be even possible to get an R360 (I've never heard of this however). The RV360 is a completely different chip made with a completely different manufacturing process. Furthermore, the default GPU and memory clocks correspond with the 9600XT as well.
 

bobmanfoo

Disabled
Joined
Apr 30, 2004
Tb0y said:
argh dam ati. it was brand new and i dont think circuit city doesnt accept returns on open box items so no1 couldve swapped it.
WRONG! CC takes back most things if you are not 100% satisfied, i've returned many video cards open box, take it back and b!tch!
 

Avg

Senior Member
Joined
Oct 30, 2003
How much did you pay for it? I think that they will take it if on the receipt says that you bought a 9800pro, and I know that at Circuit City you don't even need to keep the receipt they keep it on the computer.
 
OP
T

Tb0y

Registered
Joined
Jul 13, 2004
Avg said:
How much did you pay for it? I think that they will take it if on the receipt says that you bought a 9800pro, and I know that at Circuit City you don't even need to keep the receipt they keep it on the computer.

really?? i bought mine for 200 after rebate so i dont have my receipt but i still have the boxes and everything else. the cables for it are not even opened.