• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help on my Piledriver FX-6300

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

dynhocafe

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
Hey guys, in kind of new, and i just know a few about, but i dont know anything about NB and HB overclocking, please help me ? lol :D

- First of all, these are my specs: :salute:
PSU: Corsair CX500
Mobo: Asrock 970A-G/3.1
Cpu: Amd Fx-6300
Cooler: Hyper T4
RAM: HyperX Fury DDR3 1866 C10 2x4GB (1866Mhz at 1.5v CL10)
HD: Seagate ST1000VM002-1CT162 1TB

I've already rearched a 1h stable 4.3Ghz o.c at @1.325 vcore on P95, but i want to raise my NB to 2400, or atleast 2200 safe, and after that raise my RAM to 2133..

my max temp on P95 is close to 60c, and in stressfull games is close to 54c(games with a lot of cpu use), and 48c on regular games.

- Cpu-Z Prints:
900x900px-LL-1df23efd_cpuz1.PNG

2.png

2.png

If you guys want more details just ask!
 

Attachments

  • IMG_20170513_142545799[1].jpg
    IMG_20170513_142545799[1].jpg
    2 MB · Views: 175
  • IMG_20170513_142609956[1].jpg
    IMG_20170513_142609956[1].jpg
    1.8 MB · Views: 196
  • IMG_20170513_142640077[1].jpg
    IMG_20170513_142640077[1].jpg
    1.9 MB · Views: 173
  • IMG_20170513_142502030.jpg
    IMG_20170513_142502030.jpg
    1.3 MB · Views: 177

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
Seems it's looking you right in the eye judging by the pics you have posted. First of all don't mess with the HT Bus Speed. It won't improve performance if you do and it likely would generate instability. Your NB frequency multiplier is x10 right now so to get it to 2400 mhz you would need to make it x12. 200x12=2400. 200 is the system bus frequency. But you also may have to increase the NB Voltage to have it be stable if you increase the NB frequency to 2400. Try 1.225.

My concern is that this may make the package temp run a little hotter and you are already on the cusp of being too hot which can cause instability in and of itself or at least down-throttling. That hypter T4 cooler is marginally adequate.
 
OP
D

dynhocafe

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
there are 2 voltages, the nb voltage, and de cpu nb voltage, what should i raise ? thanks for replying!
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
CPU_NB is the voltage you want

Yup, that's correct. I gave a bumb steer. Johann45, did I give him correct advice about the NB multiplier? I don't see a line item for the CPU/NB multiplier.
 
OP
D

dynhocafe

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
thanks for all the tips, i have my FSB on 220, my cpu is 4920Ghz at @1.325, my NB is 2200, my HT 2200, and the CPU NB and NB voltage is @1.3, i just changed the volta to 1.3 and give a try on P95, and have success on 1h with max temp on 65c, but now i have stutter in a few games, how do i fix that?, also the benchmarks is much greater now c:, also my RAM is 2052 at CL10
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
thanks for all the tips, i have my FSB on 220, my cpu is 4920Ghz at @1.325, my NB is 2200, my HT 2200, and the CPU NB and NB voltage is @1.3, i just changed the volta to 1.3 and give a try on P95, and have success on 1h with max temp on 65c, but now i have stutter in a few games, how do i fix that?, also the benchmarks is much greater now c:, also my RAM is 2052 at CL10

You have never told us what video card you are running. Is the stutter due bottlenecking by the CPU or the GPU? That's a very good overclock for an FX-6300 and you won't get any more performance out of that component. An FX-6300 is going to bottleneck some modern titles depending on how high you have the detail settings cranked up. What games are you running that stutter still? You may need to move up to an Intel platform or Ryzen.
 
OP
D

dynhocafe

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
You have never told us what video card you are running. Is the stutter due bottlenecking by the CPU or the GPU? That's a very good overclock for an FX-6300 and you won't get any more performance out of that component. An FX-6300 is going to bottleneck some modern titles depending on how high you have the detail settings cranked up. What games are you running that stutter still? You may need to move up to an Intel platform or Ryzen.

i'm using a very potato gpu, a GTX 550TI, but before the overclock, i just play fine, games like GTA V, and Shadow of Mordor, after overclock i got some stutter on GTA V, but shadow of mordor is fine..

my idea is get a 1050TI or a 1060 later, and then upgrade to a fx8350 or better, but i dont have plans to change my mobo, so, i'm saying no to intel or ryzen for now..
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
The stutter could be caused by down throttling when the temps get too high. Though one would think if you can pass an hour of Prime95 you wouldn't reach any higher temps than you would see in the stress test.

So I'm wondering if now the 1050Ti is causing the stuttering. It could now be the bottleneck instead of the CPU. I think the way to test that is to turn the detail settings down to reduce the load on the video card since the card is responsible for that part of the gaming experience.
 
Last edited:
OP
D

dynhocafe

New Member
Joined
May 13, 2017
The stutter could be caused by down throttling when the temps get too high. Though one would think if you can pass an hour of Prime95 you wouldn't reach any higher temps than you would see in the stress test.

So I'm wondering if now the 1050Ti is causing the stuttering. It could now be the bottleneck instead of the CPU. I think the way to test that is to turn the detail settings down to reduce the load on the video card since the card is responsible for that part of the gaming experience.

my GPU is the GTX 550 TI, i will upgrade to 1050TI later ..
 

Johan45

Benching Team Leader Super Moderator
Joined
Dec 19, 2012
thanks for all the tips, i have my FSB on 220, my cpu is 4920Ghz at @1.325, my NB is 2200, my HT 2200, and the CPU NB and NB voltage is @1.3, i just changed the volta to 1.3 and give a try on P95, and have success on 1h with max temp on 65c, but now i have stutter in a few games, how do i fix that?, also the benchmarks is much greater now c:, also my RAM is 2052 at CL10

i'm using a very potato gpu, a GTX 550TI, but before the overclock, i just play fine, games like GTA V, and Shadow of Mordor, after overclock i got some stutter on GTA V, but shadow of mordor is fine..

my idea is get a 1050TI or a 1060 later, and then upgrade to a fx8350 or better, but i dont have plans to change my mobo, so, i'm saying no to intel or ryzen for now..

I'm with trents on this one. 4920 MHz is a very high clock for a Hyper T4 to handle. I wouldn't be surprised if it is throttling and causing the stuttering. GTAV hits the CPU hard than Shadow of Mordor will. You might need to dial back your overclock a bit.
 

trents

Senior Member
Joined
Dec 27, 2008
I'm with trents on this one. 4920 MHz is a very high clock for a Hyper T4 to handle. I wouldn't be surprised if it is throttling and causing the stuttering. GTAV hits the CPU hard than Shadow of Mordor will. You might need to dial back your overclock a bit.

Or beef up your cooling.