• Welcome to Overclockers Forums! Join us to reply in threads, receive reduced ads, and to customize your site experience!

Help Stabilizing 4GHz

Overclockers is supported by our readers. When you click a link to make a purchase, we may earn a commission. Learn More.

xlivewire7x

Hey everyone! I recently had to reset my CMOS and lost my settings for a stable 3.6 GHz build with my Phenom II X4 940 BE. I knew I could push my system further than that, and that's what I want to do. I'm still running on air cooling but I have a Coolermaster V8 which keeps my CPU nice and cool. Right now I am running on 3.8 GHz but haven't tested for stability. Anyway, I'm just going to post the settings I've changed in the BIOS and see if anyone can help me out :).

CPU Voltage: 1.5375 V
CPU Multi: 19x
FSB: 200 (Default)
HTT + NB: 2.4 GHz
NB Volt: 1.2875 V
DRAM Volt: 2.1 V

Also, a little off topic but I was considering upgrading my RAM to either 6 or 8 GB. Would I notice any real difference? I game and multitask but don't do stuff like encoding.

Thanks!

I'm going to pop your bubble with a big dart.. you can't get a 940 100% stable with 4.0ghz unless at 20C load.

Sorry :(

To read more about how why and everything, check my guide in my sig.

Okay, that's fine that I can't do 4GHz, worth a try :). I still want to do 3.8 stable and I'll read up on you guide for that. I did take a glimpse at your thread about lowering the vcore but didn't read into it to much. Are you saying that you should keep the vcore as low as possible and use the NB core voltage to try to reach stability?

not exactly. the CPU-NBv can be used to help stablize and in effect lower your CPUv at times. But you have factor in the thermal. The CPU-NB will bring more heat onto your CPU, but will stabilize better than raisin your CPUv